AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 1 of 18 (637 Views)
Accepted Solution

Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

637 Views, 17 Replies
02-26-2014 09:05 AM

I was looking in the CUI to see if I could add a keyboard shortcut for Group and Ungroup. My LT 2013 version is showing 2 buttons for each command. the Macros are different for each pair, and so is the description. I am not an expert in this area and it isn't clear to me what the differences are. The list shows the same icon for the buttons of each pair.

 

Group-^C^C_-pkfstgroup; * ;

Group-^C^C_group

 

Ungroup-^C^C_qkungroup

Ungroup-^C^C_ungroup

 

So, which command matches the button on the ribbon panel? And is there a difference to the commands?

OK first if you type GROUP or UNGROUP at command line, do the commands work? If they do, then you can edit the PGP file to assign keyboard shortcuts. When you get to the edit aliases box, click on PGP. this will open a text file in notepad. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the file and it will say something about user defined command aliases. This is where you want to enter the shortcuts at.

 G,         *GROUP
UG,       *UNGROUP

The G shortcut will replace the groupmanager shortcut. After you enter them, save the file and close. In the drawing, enter REINT at the command line. This will update autocad so the new shortcuts will work.

Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 493
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 2 of 18 (631 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

02-26-2014 09:37 AM in reply to: katie1994

Unless LT is differant then full autocad, G is the keyboard shortcut for group. Ungroup doesn't have a keyboard shortcut built in but I added UG to the pgp file as the shortcut. As far as the macros, I'm not sure what the differance is.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,985
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 18 (615 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

02-26-2014 10:47 AM in reply to: katie1994

LT is special, it has all four commands. Full AutoCAD does not, so the above tip is not applicable.
Why don't you type each at the command line and find out for yourself which do you like/prefer and use it/them.

To add or edit or delete command shortcuts in AutoCAD/LT... on the Ribbon click on the MANAGE tab, then in the Customization panel and click on EDIT ALIASES. Anything you add to the bottom of the list will overwrite whatever is at the top of the list. Ensure you match the syntax exactly.
After you close/save that file, use REINIT command to reload it.

NOTE: command shortcuts do not run macros found in the CUI. For that type of advanced shortcuts you need Full AutoCAD and the use of LISP. Unless you really want to redesign the whole Keyboard Shortcuts CUI portion (I've not dared myself LOL).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 4 of 18 (570 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 02:27 AM in reply to: katie1994

You could also create either a new tab or panel in the ribbon either a toolbar with those 2 buttons...

 

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 5 of 18 (561 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 07:50 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

I already did that, what I want is a keyboard shortcut so I can toggle between the two faster.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,985
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 18 (557 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 07:55 AM in reply to: katie1994
"To add or edit or delete command shortcuts in AutoCAD/LT... on the Ribbon click on the MANAGE tab, then in the Customization panel and click on EDIT ALIASES. Anything you add to the bottom of the list will overwrite whatever is at the top of the list. Ensure you match the syntax exactly.
After you close/save that file, use REINIT command to reload it."
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 7 of 18 (544 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 02:03 PM in reply to: sthompson1021

No, if I type in G>enter the Group Manager opens, if I type in G I get a dropdown menu with every command starting with G then have to scroll down to find G.

Mentor
katie1994
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 8 of 18 (542 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 02:05 PM in reply to: pendean

I can get as far as opening the Edit Aliases box, but I have no idea what to do after that. I know nothing about coding.

Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 493
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 9 of 18 (537 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 02:26 PM in reply to: katie1994

OK first if you type GROUP or UNGROUP at command line, do the commands work? If they do, then you can edit the PGP file to assign keyboard shortcuts. When you get to the edit aliases box, click on PGP. this will open a text file in notepad. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the file and it will say something about user defined command aliases. This is where you want to enter the shortcuts at.

 G,         *GROUP
UG,       *UNGROUP

The G shortcut will replace the groupmanager shortcut. After you enter them, save the file and close. In the drawing, enter REINT at the command line. This will update autocad so the new shortcuts will work.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,985
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 18 (532 Views)

Re: Two Group and Ungroup command buttons

03-05-2014 03:25 PM in reply to: sthompson1021
Expanding the excellent post above since you have LT:
G, *GROUP
UG, *UNGROUP
PG, *_-pkfstgroup
UPG, *_qkungroup

But don't forget what I posted earlier: all these abbreviations only launch the core command, they do not run anything else so they do NOT work like the buttons you are clicking on. For example, no option like this Group - ^C^C_-pkfstgroup; * ;

As many have posted around here, type these four commands at the command line (do not click on any buttons) and see how they work for yourself.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.