AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
njam99
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 1 of 9 (364 Views)

Trying to download TrueView

364 Views, 8 Replies
12-31-2012 10:28 AM

I'm running AutoCad LT 2009 and I need to be able to open drawings that were created in newer versions of AutoCad, so I'm trying to download TrueView. I go through all the steps, try to open a drawing and it directs me to download TrueView again. What do I do now?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 9 (339 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-02-2013 05:50 AM in reply to: njam99

Trueview 2013?

Correct bit version? 32 or 64 installed?

Trueview opens and operates normally other than the Conversion? i.e. You can see the the drawing you wish to convert?

Are these DWG files you are converting that are just in a 2010 or 2013 format?

 

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Distinguished Contributor
marchitect_nc
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎11-27-2003
Message 3 of 9 (326 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-03-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: njam99
You asked: "What do I do now?" My answer: Quit. I too have LT 2009 (running on XP (SP3)) and have NEVER been able to get the True View install to work. They named it wrong. It should be No View. mg
Contributor
Holly_Jones
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 4 of 9 (312 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-03-2013 10:29 AM in reply to: njam99

Launch TrueView first and then path to the drawing you want to open via TrueView's "Open" (the little folder icon on the upper left of the screen). It's not the most intuitive program but if you have enough patience, it will get the job done.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 9 (306 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-03-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: njam99

TrueView Forum

 

It is an issue specific to your system or install. Many have not had any issue with installing and using TrueView.

There may be solutions in the specific Forum that will help you find an answer.

 

I see that marchitect_nc has been there already. I wonder if it could be a .NET issue or Direct-X as well.

Sometimes these cause AutoCAD not to load properly.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
njam99
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 6 of 9 (284 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-04-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: njam99

I don't have a TrueView icon on my desktop, and I have gone through the steps of downloading TrueView at least three times.

 

Contributor
Holly_Jones
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 7 of 9 (279 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-04-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: njam99

Do a search on your computer for "dwgviewr.exe". If you can find it, right click, drag it to your desktop and make a shortcut. If you can't find it you could go to the TrueView forum that Charles suggested and get some answers there.

good luck.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,326
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 9 (273 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-04-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: njam99
What does "going through all the steps" mean in your first post at the top?
Have you restarted Windows yet?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
njam99
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
Message 9 of 9 (260 Views)

Re: Trying to download TrueView

01-04-2013 11:51 PM in reply to: pendean

I started with Download Now and continued with each new instruction. I just tried installing it again so I could be sure to restart the computer immediately, and I got the message, "The system cannot open the device or file specified." When I clicked OK, it went to Setup Initialization anyway. The progress bar is continuing to run. I think it will run for a long time.

 

Thank you, everyone, for your replies. Charles, I will look into the .NET or Direct-X issue. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!