AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 10 (397 Views)
Accepted Solution

Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

397 Views, 9 Replies
03-13-2013 01:41 AM

I have recently Installed AutoCAD LT 2013 on a number of machines at work, incluiding creating Autodesk 'one login' ID's for the users.

 

We have purchased some new seats of AutoCAD LT, and recived a free upgrade to AutoCAD Inventor LT Suite (Which was nice!).

 

Now I would like to remove the 'Vanilla' AutoCAD LT from some machines and replace it with AutoCAD Inventor LT suite.

 

My question is - What is the easist way to do this?

 

Do I need to do a full uninstall - reinstall?

Can I Instal LT Suite as an upgrade and just switch the licesce codes?

Is there anything specific I need to do with the users Autodesk 'one login' account?

 

Any advice you can give will be most welcome.

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!

Hi Dean, thank you for the valuable input as always!

 

Just confirmed with one of our activations crew members that, while you would be able to change the serial number, the Product Key cannot easily be changed (and LT in the suite and the vanilla one have different Product Keys). While .pit file contains all applicable Product Keys, and AutoCAD LT may function after the serial number has been changed and Inventor LT has been activated, our activations team member fears this may bring problems in future License transfer attempts. Therefore, his suggestion remains to uninstall and re-install the program as it doesn't take long and is a safer bet:smileyhappy:

 

Regards,

 

 

Community Manager
camilo.lemos
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 2 of 10 (359 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 02:24 AM in reply to: PaulMunford

Hi Paul,

 

Let me start with your One Login/Single Sign On question: unless your new suites are registered to a specific user other than yourself, you will not need to change anything on your users' One Login/Single Sign On accounts.

 

Regarding the activation and upgrade process, the "cleanest" way to do this would be to fully uninstall AutoCAD LT and install and activate the full suite. You could leave your current installation of AutoCAD LT as it is and just install the Inventor LT component of the suite but, speaking from experience with activations, this could potentially lead to confusion in the future as to what serial number and product key was used to activate each programme.

 

Let me know if you have any more questions:smileyhappy:



Camilo Lemos
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 10 (349 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 04:36 AM in reply to: camilo.lemos

As with all the Suite should be stand alone programs.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,496
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 10 (342 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: camilo.lemos

Camilo, wouldn't you just change the serial number inside the installed LT-seats to the new serial number, instead of the long-winded uninstall just to reinstall? AFAIK AutoCAD LT and Inventor LT are not connected to each other, they just show up in the same purchased bundle (kind of like buying fruit cocktail, same can, different fruit).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Community Manager
camilo.lemos
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 5 of 10 (328 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi Dean, thank you for the valuable input as always!

 

Just confirmed with one of our activations crew members that, while you would be able to change the serial number, the Product Key cannot easily be changed (and LT in the suite and the vanilla one have different Product Keys). While .pit file contains all applicable Product Keys, and AutoCAD LT may function after the serial number has been changed and Inventor LT has been activated, our activations team member fears this may bring problems in future License transfer attempts. Therefore, his suggestion remains to uninstall and re-install the program as it doesn't take long and is a safer bet:smileyhappy:

 

Regards,

 

 



Camilo Lemos
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,496
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 10 (320 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: camilo.lemos

Good info, thanks for checking it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (301 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

03-13-2013 12:52 PM in reply to: PaulMunford
Thanks team!
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Contributor
CuriousYellow
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 8 of 10 (183 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

04-14-2013 10:05 PM in reply to: PaulMunford

I hope I'm in the ballpark posting this question in this thread...

 

I've got a standalone license of AutoCAD LT 2012.  I will be buying Inventor LT and am looking at the LT suite.  How do I do this?  Is it considered an upgrade or a standalone to go to the suite?

 

Thank you in advance!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 10 (176 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

04-15-2013 05:01 AM in reply to: CuriousYellow

Standalone. Once you get the Suite to upgrade you need to upgrade the Suite or buy another seat of LT and start over.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,496
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 10 (172 Views)

Re: Superseding AutoCAD LT with AutoCAD LT Suite

04-15-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: CuriousYellow

Inventor LT is a standalone. You buy it full price.

The LT Suite is a package/bundle deal: if you buy it at full price, it's always upgeradeable as a bundle, not individual software pieces. The two software are together, never separate.

 

If you buy the bundle with a teaser 'upgrade' special pricing from LT2012, you will lose the LT2012 as it's own seat but gain Inventor LT and LT2014 together. The bundle can only be used by one person as the bundle is considered one license.

 

If you buy the bundle at full price, your LT 2012 remains intact, you can upgrade it separately, you can put it on someone else' PC to use.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.