Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scaling

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
ggunn
378 Views, 8 Replies

Scaling

I am using AutoCAD LT 2012, and I apologize in advance for the newbie questions.

I have been using AutoCAD for a few months and I've just been avoiding scaling issues, drawing things "big enough" and setting scaling in paper space by trial and (many) errors. I am trying to get a handle on scaling now and it's got me chasing my tail.

I created a new file with the acadlt.dwt template, and I got a sheet displayed in paper space, but what size paper is it? I don’t see any indicator in paper space that tells me what I am looking at.

I locked the scale at 1:1 and drew a rectangle the size of the viewport on a layer that I can see in model space, and I set the drawing units as millimeters.  I went into settings and set the grid spacing to 1.0 which I thought would give me a grid line per millimeter, but it only gives me 10 grid divisions along the long side of the rectangle, even when I zoom way in.  Surely I am not working with a 10mm long sheet of paper!

Can someone turn on a light for me?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
pendean
in reply to: ggunn

PLOT command, look at the Paper Size entry.

PAGESETUP while in that paperspace>Modify Button, find the paper size entry.

Get in the habit of calling your tab with the sheet size in the name.

Message 3 of 9
ggunn
in reply to: pendean

Thanks, that is what I needed to do to set the paper size.  The problem I am having now is that although I have gone into drawing utilities and set my units to millimeters, the grid and the dynamic input remain in inches.

Message 4 of 9
ggunn