AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 1 of 5 (300 Views)

Rotated Dimension offset from viewport

300 Views, 4 Replies
02-06-2012 07:38 AM

I have a set of Rotated Dimensions in paperspace that are graphically offset from their associated points.  I have not made any changes to the viewport, model or dimensions for this layout since the last time they displayed properly.  In other words I found them like this when I opened the drawing this morning.

 

See attached image.

 

Command: list
1 found

DIMENSION Layer: "A-ANNO-DIMS"
Space: Paper space
Layout: ramp layout
Handle = a433
associative: yes
type: horizontal
1st extension defining point: X=0'-3 5/8" Y=0'-6 7/16" Z= 0'-0"
2nd extension defining point: X= 0'-3" Y=0'-5 31/32" Z= 0'-0"
dimension line defining point: X= 0'-3" Y=0'-5 21/32" Z= 0'-0"
default text position: X=0'-3 5/16" Y=0'-5 25/32" Z= 0'-0"
default text
dimension style: "Arch Frame"
dimension style overrides:
DIMLFAC -96.00000
Annotative: No

 

AutoCAD LT 2012 F.51.0.0

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: Rotated Dimension offset from viewport

02-06-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: kwg06516

Tried a REGEN?

Tried running RECOVER on the plan to Open it?

ANNOTATIVE?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,907
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 5 (292 Views)

Re: Rotated Dimension offset from viewport

02-06-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: kwg06516

Someone moved them and did not notice: or the objects these dimensions where snapped-to moved, thus kicking them out (they did not reassociate, since you have DIMASSOC turned on).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,732
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 4 of 5 (284 Views)

Re: Rotated Dimension offset from viewport

02-06-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: kwg06516

There is also a command calle DIMREGEN which may or maynot work.

 

If the DIMASSOC is turned on it may very well be snapping to points that are on another object outside of the viewport.

 

If DIMASSOC is turned off then it is not unusual since you may have moved objects.

 

Try DIMREASSOCIATE (DDA OOTB) and snap the leader/witness lines back to the points you want.

 

 

HTH

 

Regards,

DJ

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 5 of 5 (270 Views)

Re: Rotated Dimension offset from viewport

02-08-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: kwg06516

Charles Shade,


REGEN had no effect.  I did not consider a RECOVER when I discovered that moving one control point, such as the text position, relaligned the dimension elements to their control points.

 

Dean,

 

Neither the dimensions nor the objects they measure were moved since the last time they displayed correctly before the error.  The problem seems to have corrected itself, as the error did not return when I reopened the file today.  I don't understand the comment about DIMASSOC.  Aren't they supposed to reassociate when DIMASSOC is turned on?  Besides, I've worked with DIMASSOC=2 since forever and this is very unusual.


Drjohn,

 

Sorry but I'll have to wait and see if it happens again before I can try DIMREGEN or DIMREASSOCIATE.  The fact that they seemed to correct themselves after moving a control point suggests that these commands may work when and if it happens again.

 

Thanks, everybody.

 

Kevin.

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.