AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
1CRP
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 1 of 7 (699 Views)
Accepted Solution

roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

699 Views, 6 Replies
01-14-2013 10:03 AM

Is it possible to do simple 2D roof plans in Autocad LT 2013?  Wanting to purchase, but need to make sure first.  If so, what is the command?

Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 2 of 7 (686 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-14-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: 1CRP

LINE. :-)

 

AutoCAD LT has no built-in "roof" tool; all you get is whatever you can make with lines, arcs, circles, etc.

 

But you don't have to take my word for it -- download a free 30-day trial and test it yourself before you commit.

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 7 (678 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-14-2013 01:58 PM in reply to: 1CRP

Just what you draw yourself.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
1CRP
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 4 of 7 (670 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-14-2013 02:06 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thank you.  That's what I was afraid of.  I was looking for a time-saver, but guess not with this version.  Any tips?

 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 7 (657 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-14-2013 07:07 PM in reply to: 1CRP

1CRP wrote:

Thank you.  That's what I was afraid of.  I was looking for a time-saver, but guess not with this version.  Any tips?

 


A book I read recently called Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.

It seems that if you put in 10,000 hours to most anything you become very proficient at it. :smileywink:

 

This really comes down to how many bucks do you want to spend. There are porgrams that will do this either simple versions or complex. The thing is if you buy the one that will do the simple plan you have bought the same that will do the complex.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (651 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-15-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: 1CRP

How much do you want to spend (software cost, plus learning cost and time)?

Will you be sharing CAD files with others, or are you basically a stand-alone entity?

http://www.autodesk.com/architecuture

http://www.autodesk.com/revit

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
1CRP
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 7 of 7 (645 Views)

Re: roof plans in Autocad LT 2013

01-15-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: pendean

I do com'l const docs mainly, but the roofs are for my residential side.  I don't do much residential, but miss my old full-version of cad that drew up the roof plans for me.  Since on my own for the past several years, not wanting to spend the money for the full-blown autocad version.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.