AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 1 of 9 (285 Views)
Accepted Solution

Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

285 Views, 8 Replies
11-20-2012 02:34 AM

Hi,

I've made templates from which I have created page setup and from those I have saved both the pc3 and the pmp.

I've spent the last three days to manually import the page setup to almost 200 dwg (which are used with several scripts)...

For some unknown reasons I have the page setup settings changed, mainly from portrait to landscape...:smileyfrustrated:

 

So I'd like to know why the pc3 was NOT used ?

Thanks.

 

 

Forget it... I'll do it manually

 

But Thanks anyway for your time. Cheers.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 9 (272 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-20-2012 04:38 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

That's too broad a question I suspect: what was/is your main objective with this undertaking?

LT version? Windows version? plotting to Windows drivers? Alone, or part of a larger office?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 3 of 9 (260 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-20-2012 06:48 AM in reply to: pendean

AutoCAD 2013LT

Windows 7 64 bits

Large office

 

In our previous environment (AutoCAD 2005LT), the menus were heavily customised with lots of new buttons with scripts behind that automatically insert templates, fill attributes, etc...

 

Due to:

-migration to Windows 7 64 bits

-print server crash

 

I have to rebuild a new .cuix with all the features.

So in all .dwg and .dwt I found in our server, I manualy change the page setup.

but some of them switches orientation and I would like to know why before changing again...

 

Thanks.

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 9 (250 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-20-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

More questions, forgive me: did you all use pagesetups (and/or PC3 files) in LT2005 like you wish to do now? nothing has changed in that respect, they both should work the same.

Or is this a new approach? and why if it is? and what did you used to do in LT2005?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 5 of 9 (231 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-21-2012 12:55 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

As per print server crash and 64 bits programs, I redefined page setup, pc3 and pmp files 

 

I was not the "creator" of the previous environment so I just mimic all he had done.

 

As far as I know pc3 and pmp define printer settings and the page setup gives paper orientation, plot style, plot area, etc...

 

Perhaps there's a bug in one script that import those page setup ?

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 9 (224 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-21-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

... or you are importing the wrong pagesetup perhaps.

PC3 file is just a pointer file, the pagesetup is the master control.

 

Do you just need to create a simpler macro button(s) to automate plotting?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 7 of 9 (216 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-21-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: pendean

it's more complex than that...

 

yes, there's a single button, but behind there are scripts that launch .bat that launch other scripts and then open an Excell and then...

 

It's a whole procedure to "quickly" plot drawings from other company’s, with very, very small AutoCAD knowledge.

 

I found a way to correct everthing I did this on this forum: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Visual-LISP-AutoLISP-and-General/Globally-Changing-Page-Setups/m-p/342...

 

Unfortunately, it seems to be only valid for AutoCAD full, NOT the LT :-(

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 9 (211 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-21-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: c.dufrene

You might need to share these files and details if you want further help with these customizations.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
c.dufrene
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 9 of 9 (204 Views)

Re: Priority to pc3 or to page setup ?

11-21-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: pendean

Forget it... I'll do it manually

 

But Thanks anyway for your time. Cheers.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!