AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
JeffoCad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 1 of 20 (1,793 Views)

Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

1793 Views, 19 Replies
01-18-2012 05:49 PM

Hi All - When i Plot to Adobe PDF from AutoCad its not saving the full File Name - can anyone help?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 20 (1,781 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

01-19-2012 05:07 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

What PDF driver are you using inside AutoCAD exactly?

Do you use a period as part of the file name: Like PLAN.FLOOR.ONE.pdf for example?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
JeffoCad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
Message 3 of 20 (1,772 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

01-19-2012 05:12 PM in reply to: pendean

Hi - Im not sure what driver - im plotting to Adobe Acrobat Professional - the file naming convention is;

D01-LayoutPlan-1to100-Rev0 but the PDF is only saving as D01-L

 

Our IT dept is baffled as if i save the file to the desktop it works fine. All other programs there is no issue - Just AutoCad.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 20 (1,763 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

01-20-2012 05:25 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

>>>...as if i save the file to the desktop it works fine...<<<

That's an interesting problem.

 

You will need to contact Adobe for support with their software if that is what you want to use: try the same test but use AutoCAD's built-in PDF driver, DWG to PDF.PC3 is the name of it. Then also test with the DWF printer to see if it does it too.

At least then you can better isolate the problem.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
MickCloey2583
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 5 of 20 (1,697 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

04-18-2012 06:07 PM in reply to: JeffoCad

We had experienced the same problem in our office, and have just found a solution that works for us.

 

After trying a few things, we narrowed the problem down to the entire filename and path (eg C:\Users\JohnSmith\Documents\My Cad File.dwg) being too long. There seems to be a set limit on the length of the print job name which is sent to the printer.

 

Try copying the folder containing the files to be plotted to a location with a shorter path and re-plotting the files.

 

Hope this works for you.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 20 (1,688 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

04-19-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

Just curious: Is this the actual name of the file in the Windows folder that the PDF is being saved in or is this information that is being printed on the file by Plot Stamp?

And what part of the text above is your Drawing File name and what portion is the Layout name?

 

Typical DWG to PDF Plot will be the drawing name and then the Tab name

Example here: 12-005A A-3.pdf       12-005A is the Drawing file   A-3 is the Layout name

 

Saving the file to the Desktop is not the same convention as Plotting to PDF.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
alamosa
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 7 of 20 (1,638 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

05-17-2012 02:53 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

My layout tab is also being truncated. The drawing file is af_00.dwg. The layout tab is 3.02A. The final file name is af_00 3.pdf. This is a real pain, I really need the layout tab name, and I have never had this problem before. Any suggestions?

Active Member
alamosa
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 8 of 20 (1,636 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

05-17-2012 03:25 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

See previous post - I also just tried to import a layout from a file that is not having this problem. The imported layout still truncated the pdf file name, so it must be a setting in the file.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,319
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 20 (1,631 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

05-17-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: alamosa

What PDF driver are you using? LT version? Your post is light on details (whether you posted elsewhere or here previously).

 

Adobe Acrobat PDF drivers (and some others) don't like too many periods in a name and stop after they hit the first one: seems to be your exact issue.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
alamosa
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-17-2012
Message 10 of 20 (1,627 Views)

Re: Plot to PDF - not saving the full File Name!

05-17-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: JeffoCad

I am using Autocad Architect 2008. I don't have any periods in the name. The file name has only the period just before the extension "af_00.dwg".

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!