AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
EL-Designer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 1 of 12 (819 Views)
Accepted Solution

paste issues again!!

819 Views, 11 Replies
11-16-2012 07:34 AM

I got an issue with paste command again!!

 

I am working on a drawing with 20 pages, I have to copy some texts in all drawings and I did it for 19 pages but suddenly I can not paste it in last page!!

 

And surprising that I can not paste anything in the drawing anymore!

 

I have tried to paste with clipboard but doesn't work!

even I copy from other drawing, Can't paste it!

 

this is the error that I'm getting:   " Substituting [simplex.shx] for [MSURVEY.SHX] "

even I reload this file it doesn't work :smileysad:

 

 

 

Thank you to everyone engaging in assisting in this post.  One suggestion moving forward would be to perform a total clean up procedure on a test copy of this affected file using the sequence outlined in the link below.  This will then strip out all potential problems and create a new, fresh, cleaned up file for use.  This also works for many other scenarios of corrupted or lagging files.

 

File clean up: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18809891&linkID=9240617

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 12 (815 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-16-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

Do you have the MSURVEY.SHX Font?

Assuming you do but if not you need that SHX Font or change the Textstyle that uses it to one that you have.

BTW - I did have a SHX font become corrupt the week or two ago. Never did find out why.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
EL-Designer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 3 of 12 (802 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-16-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

how can I fix corupted SHX file?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 12 (798 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-16-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: EL-Designer

20 pages: as in 20 different DWG files, or 20 layouts (or 20 locations in one modelspace)?

What is clear is this one "file" you cannot paste into, perhaps the layer is frozen or it is a file from another source with AEC content in it? I seriously doubt an SHX corruption is the problem.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 12 (773 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-19-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: pendean

Offered that as a reason why the OP's file may no longer be recognizing the SHX font.

Isn't a SHX issue something that another poster had a couple weeks ago when trying to paste into a drawing?

It was missing therefore the paste would not finish?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
EL-Designer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 6 of 12 (765 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-19-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: pendean

It Is one drawing with 20 layouts, there is no frozen layer!

I van not past anything!! its so wierd :smileysad:

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 12 (760 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-19-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

Ran AUDIT on the file?

Tried WBLOCK to a new file?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
EL-Designer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 8 of 12 (747 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-19-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I audited the drawing, still doesn't work.

 

I made a block from the objects that I wanted to copy when I want to paste it, I can see it on the clipboard but when I click on the page something else will pasted that I have no Idea where that come from?!!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 12 (735 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-20-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

so the problem is one single file? Post it here, remove any sensitive info first. Share your font too, use ETRANSMIT command to package a ZIP file to post and inlcude everything needed with the file.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
EL-Designer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 10 of 12 (726 Views)

Re: paste issues again!!

11-20-2012 05:59 AM in reply to: pendean

I opened the drawing today and it works fine!!

 

I have no idea what happened !

 

but please let me know if someone found a solution!

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.