AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Post 1 of 9

Paste Issue

323 Views, 8 Replies
10-25-2012 06:45 AM

hi,

 

I am trying to copy some items in my drawing but i can not past anything in this specific drawing, i turned on all layer but didn't work!

 

I wonder if there is a n option in Cad that Locks the paste option?!! or what the problem can be?!

*Expert Elite*
24,260 Posts
1,600 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 2 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-25-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

Do you get an error message or prompt?

Can you cut/paste within this one problem file? or are you trying to cut/paste between files?

Is the file from another firm or user, someone using either 2013 or a "vertical" like AutoCAD Architecture or Civil or MEP?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Post 3 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-25-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

thank you for your respond

 

I am not getting any error message, the copy commend works fine in the drawing but when I copy with the clipboard it doesn't work within the file!

 

I am trying to copy and past between 2 different drawing , if I copy the object from the source file to any other drawing it works fine, but I can not past any thing in this specific drawing!!

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
24,260 Posts
1,600 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 4 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-25-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

No, not COPY command: In the problem file only, can you COPY/PASTE in it? grab content from one side, copy to clipboard, then paste it elsewhere.

 

Another test: in the source file, draw a line. Copy it to the Clipboard. Go to the Destination/problem file, PASTE that line in. Anything?

 

Try fixing the destination file: RECOVER or AUDIT commands, followed by PURGE then SAVE.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
1,056 Posts
116 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Post 5 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-26-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: EL-Designer

COPYCLIP, COPYBASE & PASTECLIP are the clipboard commands...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
Post 6 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-31-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: pendean

I was just upgraded to ACAD 13 LT.  With 12 I was able to copy an item to the clipboard and then paste it to a different drawing.  This was different than the previous version, but I adapted.  Now with 13, I have done the same command sequence, the image is selected, copy to clipboard with basepoint, and then when I switch to the new drawing, paste is not a highlighted option.  Is there a setting that is included in the install that I need to change? 

Thanks,

bbwebb44

Distinguished Mentor
560 Posts
81 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Post 7 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

10-31-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: EL-Designer

Hi, how are you trying to copy to clipboard? I was having problems and finally figured out that Ctrl Shift C and Ctrl Shift V were the easiest way to copy between drawings with base point. If you don't need the base point then Ctrl C and Ctrl V work. I use 2013lt and I don't have any special settings.

*Expert Elite*
24,260 Posts
1,600 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 8 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

11-01-2012 04:39 AM in reply to: bbwebb44

Are you saving your files to a lower format than 2013?

CTRL+C and CTRL+V work fine here in 2013, I can copy/paste all day long between files.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Post 9 of 9

Re: Paste Issue

11-02-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: pendean

this the error that im getting now!

 

Substituting [simplex.shx] for [MSURVEY.SHX].

 

i figure at that there is a missing file and when I attached that it worked fine :smileyhappy:

 

Thank you all

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!