AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-16-2011
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

990 Views, 7 Replies
01-16-2011 06:05 PM

I use Lt 2008 now will it transfer to the new system or will I need to upgrade to Lt 2011

 

The new system is 64 Bit  6 GB ram

Have you tried?

Is the OS Professional or Ultimate?

To be honest I am not quite sure on the 32 or 64 question. Obvious answer is 32 bit for 32 bit and 64 bit for 64 bit, but I swear I've read you can do 32 bit on 64 but not 64 bit on 32.

 

Typically LT 2008 needs to be run in XP mode on Win 7 OS and the Pro or Ultimate have this option.

We have LT2008 installed in Win7Pro 64bit just fine: some OEs and patches will not install though.

 

If you want LT2011, the discounted pricing for upgrades for you will expire by mid-March. After that you will pay full price for newer versions.

*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 2 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: TVALIANTE

Have you tried?

Is the OS Professional or Ultimate?

To be honest I am not quite sure on the 32 or 64 question. Obvious answer is 32 bit for 32 bit and 64 bit for 64 bit, but I swear I've read you can do 32 bit on 64 but not 64 bit on 32.

 

Typically LT 2008 needs to be run in XP mode on Win 7 OS and the Pro or Ultimate have this option.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 3 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 05:55 AM in reply to: TVALIANTE

BTW - You should have until March to get the LT 2011 Upgrade discount if you decide to do so.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
24,217 Posts
1,593 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 4 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 06:20 AM in reply to: TVALIANTE

We have LT2008 installed in Win7Pro 64bit just fine: some OEs and patches will not install though.

 

If you want LT2011, the discounted pricing for upgrades for you will expire by mid-March. After that you will pay full price for newer versions.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 5 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thanks for the follow up but what worked for you in case someone else finds this.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-16-2011
Post 6 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 09:39 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thanks to all for your input.

 

I called Dell Business Div.

 

They switched me over to their new Vostro 3700 series with Windows 7 Professional with i7 Processor and 6GB Ram.

 

They claim its half the weight, will stay charged longer and was the same price.

 

I think I'll stay with Lt 2008, it serves my needs and I didn't think it would work with the new systems.

 

Thanks again.

 

Tom Valiante

*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 7 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 10:53 AM in reply to: TVALIANTE

That's a good looking truck.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-16-2011
Post 8 of 8

Re: New Laptop 64 Bit windows 7 Dell Inspiron

01-17-2011 03:22 PM in reply to: TVALIANTE

Thanks,

 

Try this one

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post