AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 1 of 5 (3,711 Views)

Lock/Unlock Viewport

3711 Views, 4 Replies
10-30-2012 09:11 AM

I have 102 layout tabs and many more to come on this project. Each layout tab is a different scale (I know, awesome, right?). Is there a quick way to lock/unlock the viewport? I'm ctrl+dragging to create new layouts and it's simply annoying to click the little lock button to change the scale. (**** first world problems.)

 

Tried messing with the hotkeys but I can't even get F1 to disappear with LT like I can with full version.

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (3,706 Views)

Re: Lock/Unlock Viewport

10-30-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: KristinLindberg

-VPORTS command, ALL selection option, should catch and do whatever you want in a layout.

Make it a right-click or experiment with making it a keyboard shortcut key in CUI command, or a button somewhere :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 3 of 5 (3,204 Views)

Re: Lock/Unlock Viewport

04-26-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: pendean

Just saw this reply, not sure why I didn't see it until now. That would work great if I needed all the vports to be the same scale, but I'm "simply" looking for a keyboard shortcut the locks/unlocks the viewports, I haven't been able to find it within the CUI.

 

I'm just looking for a way to do this via keyboard becuse I rarely use the mouse <GASP> and prefer to use command line as much as possible.

 

Seems like I'm going to end up customizing ACAD to "spoiled brat" from vanilla, haha.

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (3,200 Views)

Re: Lock/Unlock Viewport

04-26-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: KristinLindberg

You are posting in the LT forum, where customized keyboard 'commands' as you describe are not available.
If you are using LT as well, guess what? If you are not, you really posted in the wrong forum.

 

But if you want to create a button in LT, the macro above can be modified to select viewports manually: look up MVIEW command as well, it's lock sub-option lets you manually select viewport(s) to lock. In full AutoCAd, this could be easily converted to a Lisp to type instead.

 

It all boils down to you knowing how commands work, and which commands work for your exact needs: simply hunting without knowing what you are looking at makes customizations difficult.

 

Tap HELP (GASP) and start to learn your commands, what they can and cannot do :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
KristinLindberg
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 5 of 5 (3,188 Views)

Re: Lock/Unlock Viewport

04-26-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: pendean
I'm very familiar with commands. After looking into this more (and after a switch from LT2010 to ACAD-Mechanical 2013) I am much happier :smileyhappy:
AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 SP2
AutoCAD 2013 SP2
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!