AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
germXXL
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 1 of 4 (1,558 Views)
Accepted Solution

Locating Origin in Model Space

1558 Views, 3 Replies
09-18-2012 09:49 AM

Hello!

 

(ACAD LT 2012)

 

I can't seem to locate the 0,0 (ORIGIN) in Model space.

 

SCENARIO 1:

I create a line > specify second pt to 0,0 > Enter = NADA

 

SCENARIO 2:

Create a Line > Select Line > Move to 0,0 = NADA

 

HOWEVER, If i create something, use COPYBASE command, and and specify 0,0 --> PASTE into new drawing with 0,0 as insertion point, it can locate it... so it's there.... i just can't find it.

 

Please help, thx!

 

-- gxl

 

http://ltunlimited.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/08/absolute-vs-rel.html

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11753684&linkID=9240815

 

Be more specific when typing out coordinates in LT, that way you avoid odd settings in files:

@x,y for relative

#x,y for absolute

 

See if that helps.

 

Thank YOU, Dean!!

 

This may sound lazy, but I do NOT want to type in #.

I've never had to do this (being specific) before using other acad version. 

However, the first link you provided solved my problem -- once I found where Dynamic Input was located.

 

 

step-by-step Solution:

Selection Cycling (CTRL W)  >   RT CLK Settings > Dynamic Input > Settings for POINTER INPUT  > Select ABSOLUTE COORDINATES.

 

---------------------------------------------------------

 

Background Extras:

 

I trried to move something to 0,0 (before solution):   FAIL

Co-Worker #1 attempts same thing on her machine using same drawing:  SUCCESS

Co-Worker #2 attempts same thing on her machine same drawing:  FAIL

 

OPEN new drawing and attempt to locate 0,0:  FAIL

Co-Woker #2 finds Survey from consultant.  Attempts to locate 0,0 using her machine:  SUCCESS (weird since she couldn't do it in the previous drawing)

 

All 3 of us check our POINTER INPUT SETTINGS to see if it's a settings issue or drawing issue.  All of us have RELATIVE COORDINATES Selected.... (weird right?)

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,639
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (1,555 Views)

Re: Locating Origin in Model Space

09-18-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: germXXL

http://ltunlimited.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/08/absolute-vs-rel.html

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11753684&linkID=9240815

 

Be more specific when typing out coordinates in LT, that way you avoid odd settings in files:

@x,y for relative

#x,y for absolute

 

See if that helps.

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
germXXL
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 3 of 4 (1,552 Views)

Re: Locating Origin in Model Space

09-18-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: pendean

Thank YOU, Dean!!

 

This may sound lazy, but I do NOT want to type in #.

I've never had to do this (being specific) before using other acad version. 

However, the first link you provided solved my problem -- once I found where Dynamic Input was located.

 

 

step-by-step Solution:

Selection Cycling (CTRL W)  >   RT CLK Settings > Dynamic Input > Settings for POINTER INPUT  > Select ABSOLUTE COORDINATES.

 

---------------------------------------------------------

 

Background Extras:

 

I trried to move something to 0,0 (before solution):   FAIL

Co-Worker #1 attempts same thing on her machine using same drawing:  SUCCESS

Co-Worker #2 attempts same thing on her machine same drawing:  FAIL

 

OPEN new drawing and attempt to locate 0,0:  FAIL

Co-Woker #2 finds Survey from consultant.  Attempts to locate 0,0 using her machine:  SUCCESS (weird since she couldn't do it in the previous drawing)

 

All 3 of us check our POINTER INPUT SETTINGS to see if it's a settings issue or drawing issue.  All of us have RELATIVE COORDINATES Selected.... (weird right?)

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,639
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 4 (1,546 Views)

Re: Locating Origin in Model Space

09-18-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: germXXL

That's why I posted the links :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.