AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
AngKala
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,795 Views)

License Transfer Utility Error 36

1795 Views, 8 Replies
12-19-2012 08:52 AM

AutoCAD LT 2011 - Trying to transfer license to another PC. When running the license trasnfer utility the following error pops up:

 

Export Request Failed

The maximum number of exports for this serial number has been reached, You may not export more licenses than you have purchased.

 

Click the "Try Again" link to resubmit the request.

 

Try Again

Error Reference: 36

 

I don't think this license was ever transferred previously.  If so, I thought you could transfer an unlimited amount of times using utility.

Some info:

License name: AutoCAD LT 2011

License Type: Standalone - Locked

License expiration: None

License behavior: Permananet

License usage type: Commerical

License ID: ACDLT_F_S

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 9 (1,791 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

12-19-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: AngKala

But only if you transfer back again.

The idea is to allow you to use one License on multiple computers.

You may install the program at work, home, laptop and move the License to each of these one at a time so only one is ever being used with one License.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 9 (1,786 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

12-19-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: AngKala
Don't you have to "put it back" before borrowing a second time? Either way, someone already used that utility on your PC.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,657
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 4 of 9 (1,780 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

12-19-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: pendean

Confirming what Charles and Dean stated above.

 

In this case, there was an open export as it was never imported back onto another machine, prevent an additional export as the open export count can't = seat count which in this case = 1.



Philip Schmelzer
Member
vfpict
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-23-2014
Message 5 of 9 (484 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

07-23-2014 01:50 AM in reply to: philip.s

hello, im having the same issue, im trying to export a license to upgrade the machine but get the errorcode 36.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 9 (476 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

07-23-2014 05:30 AM in reply to: vfpict

Is there something about the responses already posted that you did not understand? You can export a license that's already exported/checked out.

Just like at the city book library, you can check out a book that's gone and not there.

 

Put it back first: you or someone else already exported the license previously. You not knowing about it is sadly of no use to anyone. Or you can install and reauthorize the software all over again on the new PC: that's always an option unless you are on a student license.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
Adoberjones91
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2014
Message 7 of 9 (333 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

09-01-2014 08:53 AM in reply to: pendean

I am working a refresh today which involves an AutoCAD license transfer, which I have worked before, but this time I get an error when working the transfer, The user has AutoCAD LT 2011 and we are looking to export the license from the old PC to then import it on the new replacement PC.

 

but when doing the export fails Error 36

 

However the solution above does not make sense regarding the issue we have.  Since to use the quote (in the attached page) the book is there on the original PC. It is useable thus should be available to export.

Are you able to assist please?

Active Member
gators63
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-08-2014
Message 8 of 9 (283 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

09-14-2014 11:31 AM in reply to: pendean

Hello penden, 

 

I have already posted this AutoDesk cryptic License Utitlity Transfer - Error reference: 36 (error) message on the AutoDesk Community boards. So, I do apolgize if this has already been addressed. As of today's date (Sept. 14, 2014), it has not been addressed. Yes, patience is a virture.

 

If I follow your analogy about "checking-in" and "checking-out" a book from your local library, I checked-out (exported) my AutoCAD 2012 standalone/student license when I wiped out my Windows XP OS on my current computer. I then checked-in (imported) my license, when I installed my Windows Vista OS on the very same computer. Now, I'm trying to do the very same "export - import" procedure but with my new computer.

 

I don't know if I should ignore the LUT error message (because on another AutoDesk Community board, the LUT application has been deemed as unreliable) and do a standard installation on my new computer or just wait for an offical response from an AutoDesk-AutoCAD designated "expert" to give me an official response on how to respond to this error message.

 

These are details of my AutoCAD 2012 license:

 

[Product Information Properties]
Thursday, January 02, 2014 10:10:27 AM
License name: AutoCAD 2012
Computer host name: LENOVO-CA8585B6
Product serial number: XXX-XXXXXXXX
Product key: 001D1
License type: Standalone - Locked
License expiration date: None
License behavior: Permanent
License usage type: Student Version
License ID: ACD_F_S

 

I bought this license and registered it with AutoDesk. So, I should not see why AutoDesk will balk at my request to transfer this single, standalone license to my new AutoCAD-compliant computer, since this is a simple export/import procedure despite what the LUT error message says.

 

Thank you for your help in this issue,

Darren Murphy

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 9 (270 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility Error 36

09-15-2014 06:07 AM in reply to: AngKala
Your LTU is failing for one reason: it thinks you have already checked out the license.
Autodesk isn't monitoring your computer: LTU is simply failing.

I suspect since EDU licenses are only for 3-years your 2012 has expired: 2015 is the current shipping model.

You will need to contact Autodesk support either through the EDU community website or through the Installation forum on this website.

Good luck.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!