Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is LT right for me?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
940 Views, 9 Replies

Is LT right for me?

I am new to CAD software and am looking to learn how to layout and design fire alarms as well as security systems with AutoCad. I have already decided to purchase one of the Autodesk products since they are obviously the standard, but am not sure which product would be appropriate for my needs. I would of course like to purchase the least costly version for my needs, but to not want to sacrifice any tools/features that I might need. My main tasks would be to take already designed DWG files provided by architects/engineers and to add a layer(s) showing symbols representing fire/burglar alarm devices as well as their associated wires. I assume it would be very similar to a version that an electrical contractor would use to design the building's electrical and lighting systems.

I would appreciate any input as to which product would most appropriately complete this task; as well as any recommended books/tutorials to get me started.

Thanks for the help!
John
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

If you don not plan to pursue 3D drawings or write your own lisp routines,
then LT is the way to go. I bought my first program, LT98, with the same
concerns you have and then LT2002 and now LT2008. Great
"jcioffi23" wrote in message news:5865968@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am new to CAD software and am looking to learn how to layout and design
fire alarms as well as security systems with AutoCad. I have already
decided to purchase one of the Autodesk products since they are obviously
the standard, but am not sure which product would be appropriate for my
needs. I would of course like to purchase the least costly version for my