AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
dcannon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 7 (774 Views)

Insert pdf?

774 Views, 6 Replies
05-14-2009 12:24 PM
Is it possible to insert a pdf into autocad LT 2009 and how? If not, what steps are needed to convert these pdfs into a formart that can be inserted?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-14-2009 12:25 PM in reply to: dcannon
Upgrade to LT2010 if you want to insert a PDF.

Or download the free dwf windows printer driver from Autodesk, print your
PDFs into DWFs, then insert DWFs in LT2009.

If you want to convert PDF to DWG, you will need to buy software from a 3rd
party vendor, or ask the PDF file originator for DWG files.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Simon Bayley
Message 3 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-14-2009 01:08 PM in reply to: dcannon
when you are looking at your pdf, press 'PrtSc' which is on the top row
of buttons on your keyboard.

Then open a good graphic software, (not paint, it's rubbish) like the
free IrfanView, and do a CTRL+V and paste it in.

Crop off what you don't want, save it as a .jpg and do a INSERT OLE into LT.
*Chips
Message 4 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-15-2009 07:01 AM in reply to: dcannon
The PrtSc keyboard button will put a screenshot on the clipboard for
pasting.

The problem with this is that a monitor has low resolution compared to say,
a printer, and the resulting jpg that is pasted into Irfanview or whatever
is low res and jaggy.

Now I don't know if Acrobat Reader has this tool, but here's what I do in
Acrobat standard 2006.

There is a toolbar button called Snapshot Tool.

Here's what yo do:

You get what you want to make an image of showing on the monitor.

Click Snapshot Tool and select the area you want the image of. As soon as
you are done selecting, it makes the image. Now don't touch anything, you
are not done.

Now at this point you have the same low res image as PrtSc gives you stored
on the clipboard. You will see that your selection area is still marked on
the screen with a fine dashed line.

Now you fool Acrobat into making a higher res image.

Click the "+" button, zooming in on the pdf.

Now in the menu bar, click Edit > Copy. Ctrl + C will not do it.

You have now made a new screen shot of the previous selected area, but at a
higher res.

Sometimes this will cause an error, messes up too much memory or whatever.
If so, try again with less zooming in.

Now paste your image from the clipboard into IrfanView and you will have a
higher res jpg.

GC

wrote in message news:6183831@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is it possible to insert a pdf into autocad LT 2009 and how? If not, what
steps are needed to convert these pdfs into a formart that can be inserted?
*Simon Bayley
Message 5 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-15-2009 07:38 AM in reply to: dcannon
Mine is the poor mans version :¬)
Member
KCarr79119
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2009
Message 6 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-15-2009 08:52 AM in reply to: dcannon
Insert>OLE>Create from file>Browse and select file.
Member
jharris89
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Message 7 of 7 (774 Views)

Re: Insert pdf?

05-15-2009 11:14 AM in reply to: dcannon
It was previously stated but how i have done it is go to insert, then OLE Object, it will let you browse your files and pick the pdf that you want to insert. as far as the size of the pdf it depends upon how far you are zoomed in or out but after you insert the pdf you can always scale it.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.