AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
trvlnmny
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎05-14-2008
Message 1 of 4 (99 Views)
Accepted Solution

Help With Dimension Styles

99 Views, 3 Replies
04-30-2012 05:16 PM

I am using AC LT 2008 and W 7.

I am not a professional and have taught myself, at least that amount I know, AC.

I am a hobby woodworker and use it to draw some of the projects I build.

 

When I do a new drawing I go to Dimension Style and change the text height and arrow size.

This seems to work fine if I save the drawing and reopen it I have those values i changed to.

 

What I would like to do is have those values in all New drawings I start.

I am sure there is an easy answer to this but I am unable to find it.

 

Thanks for any and all help.

You have to create that dimension style, or modify the "standard" style, in your drawing template. The template is the "drawing board"  that you start drawing on. You can read more about the template, i.e., DWT, in the help.

The answer is simple. Take a drawing file that has all of the styles you want to keep, and save it as a template file. Give it a new name different from the default template files. Then when you start a new drawing and it asks you which template to use, you can pick the one you saved, and it will have the styles you want already in it.

 

If you want to get even fancier, type OPTIONS and on the files tab, there's a place to pick a specific file to use as the template file. If you do this, then when you start a new drawing, it will automatically use your template without asking :smileyhappy:

File extention is DWT. You can set this from the SaveAs window at the Files of Type... when you save this file.

OPTIONS, Files Tab, Template Settings, Default Template File Name for QNEW, Browse....  (on the right side of the dialog.)

STARTUP Variable needs to be set to 0

QNEW is the Command you want to use to get to this Template.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

 

 

Valued Contributor
Irish2
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
Message 2 of 4 (97 Views)

Re: Help With Dimension Styles

04-30-2012 05:22 PM in reply to: trvlnmny

You have to create that dimension style, or modify the "standard" style, in your drawing template. The template is the "drawing board"  that you start drawing on. You can read more about the template, i.e., DWT, in the help.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,053
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 3 of 4 (93 Views)

Re: Help With Dimension Styles

04-30-2012 05:22 PM in reply to: trvlnmny

The answer is simple. Take a drawing file that has all of the styles you want to keep, and save it as a template file. Give it a new name different from the default template files. Then when you start a new drawing and it asks you which template to use, you can pick the one you saved, and it will have the styles you want already in it.

 

If you want to get even fancier, type OPTIONS and on the files tab, there's a place to pick a specific file to use as the template file. If you do this, then when you start a new drawing, it will automatically use your template without asking :smileyhappy:

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 4 (81 Views)

Re: Help With Dimension Styles

05-01-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

File extention is DWT. You can set this from the SaveAs window at the Files of Type... when you save this file.

OPTIONS, Files Tab, Template Settings, Default Template File Name for QNEW, Browse....  (on the right side of the dialog.)

STARTUP Variable needs to be set to 0

QNEW is the Command you want to use to get to this Template.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

 

 

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!