AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
114 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-25-2005
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

445 Views, 6 Replies
04-02-2012 03:20 AM

Ladies and Gentlemen

 

I run ACAD LT 2010 on a Windows XP machine and also a Vista Laptop. I have tried to print the same drawing on both machines using the DWG to PDF facility with in AutoCAD. The drawing is a third party drawing in as much as I didn't draw it although it is an authentic ACAD DWG.

 

I get the same message but referring to different fonts - the message reads on the Vista machine:

"Cannot find or create the font "ArialMT". Some characters may not display or print correctly"

 

On the Windows XP machine it reads:

"Cannot find or create the font "Tahoma". Some characters may not display or print correctly"

 

The message seems to be generated by Adobe Reader.

 

Does any body have any ideas as I looked a right Charlie when I presented work that I thought was complete to one of my clients.

 

Thanks for your help.

Not a default setting, and the only problem I see is it avoids error messages as you noted above :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
24,231 Posts
1,596 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 2 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

04-02-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: JamesPowell7164

The DWG to PDF.PC3 driver needs to be set to capture all fonts: PLOTTERMANAGER command, then double-click on the PC3 file in question, go to the Device Settings Tab, Custom Properties section, click on button with same name, and set the Font Handling to CAPTURE ALL.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
114 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-25-2005
Post 3 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

04-02-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: pendean

Dean

 

Thanks for that. Is the default not set to capture all? If it isn't, is there a negative to setting it to capture all (file sizes larger etc)?

*Expert Elite*
24,231 Posts
1,596 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 4 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

04-03-2012 05:08 AM in reply to: JamesPowell7164

Not a default setting, and the only problem I see is it avoids error messages as you noted above :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
114 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-25-2005
Post 5 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

04-04-2012 03:25 AM in reply to: pendean

Bloomin typical!!!

 

Thanks again Dean.

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-28-2013
Post 6 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

12-28-2013 09:07 PM in reply to: JamesPowell7164

 Error 114 messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010, can you please assist, The drawing is a third party drawing in as much as I didn't draw it although,

 

Wasim Muawar

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
143 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Post 7 of 7

Re: Error messages when trying to use DWG to PDF within AutoCAD LT 2010

01-06-2014 05:02 PM in reply to: wasimmunawar
Do you have all the fonts that are in the drawing ? both autocad and windows fonts ? Does autocad give you a font error message when it opens the drawing ?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!