AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
chiragpawar
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
Message 1 of 6 (3,902 Views)

Error 1309

3902 Views, 5 Replies
03-30-2010 02:42 AM
While I try to Install AutoCAD LT 2010 from a DVD i.e. dumped from the Original CD. It gives me an Error while Installing (Error 1309: File could not be found). So I tried to copy the setup from dumped DVD to Local drive of the PC, but still it gives me the same error, is there any solution to this error.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 6 (3,902 Views)

Re: Error 1309

03-30-2010 05:53 AM in reply to: chiragpawar
The error usually means the source is corrupt: you tried the first fix, so
my guess is the DVD was damaged and your content is corrupt. You might have
to order another DVD if no one here has any other ideas:
http://www.autodeskmediarequest.com/

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*George Drayton
Message 3 of 6 (3,902 Views)

Re: Error 1309

03-30-2010 01:23 PM in reply to: chiragpawar
Try copying the files to a temporary folder on the hard drive and run
setup.exe from there.
--
George Drayton CD-CAD Ltd Christchurch New Zealand
Alumni
Kathleen_McCann
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎03-23-2010
Message 4 of 6 (3,902 Views)

Re: Error 1309

04-01-2010 10:41 AM in reply to: chiragpawar
Hello Chiragpawar,

I understand you receive "Error 1309: File could not be found" when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2010 and copied the set-up file from the DVD to the hard drive to try to continue the install, but you still receive the error.

Are you still receiving the error message?
If so, have you contacted the link Dean suggested to obtain new media?

Please let me know so I can further assist you with this issue.

Regards,

Kathleen McCann
Autodesk Product Support

AutoCAD_2010_Ass_RGB_sm
New Member
mscrafford
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 5 of 6 (3,902 Views)

Re: Error 1309

05-26-2010 12:55 PM in reply to: chiragpawar
I'm having the same problems with a downloaded version of Map 3D 2011. It's looking for the help directory install files in a directory that doesn't exist in the network installation distribution.

I wish I could say this is the first time we've had hiccups with the downloaded installation packages... This is the second corruption-related issue I've hit on for this program, and I'm now downloading the same files for the 3rd time.
glc
New Member
glc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 6 of 6 (2,898 Views)

Re: Error 1309

04-27-2012 01:21 PM in reply to: chiragpawar

I went and found the installation disk.  Ran a search for the folder that was supposed to have the files in it, found the folder, copied it to the path the installer was looking for and hit retry.  Worked like a charm.  Mine, in this case, was not corrupted, the files were just missing.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.