AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
FLHX
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 1 of 8 (16,631 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

16631 Views, 7 Replies
09-06-2011 01:02 PM

I have a drawing in model space, which I'd like to make larger so it's easier to see.  It's already dimensioned, but when I use the Scale function, to make it, say, 3X bigger, all the dimensions change by a factor of 3.

 

What I need is for everything, the dimensions included, to just get bigger, without the dimensions actually changing.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 8 (16,624 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-06-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: FLHX

You need to change the Dim Scale Linear of the Dimension to .3

Click on one dimension and open the Properties window and look for this variable.

It may show up in Quick Properties too.

You can right click and Select Similar once the Dim is highlighted and get them all at once or Match Properties to the others after you have done the first.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

 

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 8 (16,622 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-06-2011 02:25 PM in reply to: FLHX

...but then if you do this regularly you may want to get into annotative dimensions and text...

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 4 of 8 (16,591 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-08-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: FLHX

You are scaling your model larger? Therefore it is no longer 1:1? We used to make it a block and scale that about 12 years ago, when we only used modelspace.

 

If you use the layout tabs (paperspace) for arranging and annotating scaled views of your model (which continues to reside in modelspace), then you should be able to accomplish what you seek to do without scaling your model up. After that, annotative dimensions can be applied on a per-viewport basis or the program can be adjusted to auotmatically resize them for the view...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Active Contributor
FLHX
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 5 of 8 (16,581 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-08-2011 01:08 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I tried this and it worked.  It's probably just as easy to use Dimedit, and change the scaled dimensions back to the original values.

 

On that note, I notice since I've playing around with my dimscale variables I must have changed something, because now when I scale a view, the size of the objects changes, (gets BIGGER), but the size of the dimension text does not get any bigger.  I have no idea what variable I played around that did this.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 8 (16,548 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-13-2011 09:41 AM in reply to: FLHX

Start reading into annottion objects. I create mine in paperspace first, to make sure they look acceptable to me when plotted out at 1:1. Then i make them annotative. Some things to go by:

 

Set LTSCALE, MSLTSCALE, PSLTSCALE & CELTSCALE all to 1. Read into what these functions do. Some of them are the same as though you brought up the linetype dialog box and checked/unchecked some boxes.

 

In modelspace, get used to changing your CANNOSCALE to match the scale of whatever eventual viewport you have in mind for it. You can change on the fly, but it is 1:1 by default, whereas if you change it for the scale you desire the eventual viewport to show it at, then inserting annotation objects makes more sense.

 

Practice practice practice. Oh and read read read....

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 8 (16,546 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-13-2011 09:48 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Interesting on the Modelspace.

 

So you are saying that if I want my Section to be twice the size in paperspace I should set CANNOSCALE to 1/2" = 1' while drawing the section at 1:1?

Whereas since my plots are almost always 1/4" =1',  I keep the CANNOSCALE at 1/4" = 1' as I currently do?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,033
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 8 of 8 (16,531 Views)

Re: Change Scale (Size) without Changing Dimensions?

09-14-2011 08:36 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

That's it. At my job, the plan views are commonly at 3/16" = 1'-0", so I set my CANNOSCALE to that so my annotation objects will come in at the proper scale, instead of the tiny speck one might get if it was set to 1:1. Also, my linetypes show the same as they would look in paperspace in a viewport set at 3/16"=1'-0" scale.

 

Depending on what I am detailing, the section and plan detail views are at either 3/8"=1'-0" or 1/2"=1'-0", so when I go to work on them I set the CANNOSCALE accordingly. For example I have a centermark DynBlk that is also annotative, so it will have at least 2 scales assigned to it -- 1 for the plan view and 1 for the plan detail. I also do some detail views at 3"=1'-0". Modelspace never loses that 1:1 drawing scale relationship. Changing CANNOSCALE on the fly just changes how you view the scales of annotation objects, so you no longer have to ask why is my hidden linetype solid, or why is my light switch a speck lol...

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.