AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
salmelaarch
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 1 of 8 (2,923 Views)

Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

2923 Views, 7 Replies
05-21-2013 06:50 AM

We installed Autocad LT 2014 on our new computer and I noticed that it is unusually slow to switch between layouts. 

The bottom bar (where the paper/model space button is) kept flashing/switching as if its thinking whenever i click from one layout to another.  Even when Im zooming in and out, the bottom bar kept flashing slowly.

I was hoping that a new computer+new cad will make our work more efficient and faster, but i noticed theres a lot of lagging and general slowness in loading files. please help! thanks

 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 8 (2,920 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-21-2013 07:05 AM in reply to: salmelaarch

Welcome to the Autodesk Forums!

 

Some new computer specs please.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,663
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 8 (2,907 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-21-2013 08:04 AM in reply to: salmelaarch
See if this 'flickering' issue applies to you:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-LT/AutoCAD-LT-2014-Flickering-Issue/td-p/3875348
Otherwise others have reported slow switching between layouts in 2014 products in Win8, I've not seen a fix yet. Worth trying: change the hardware acceleration in LT2014 (if it's on, kill it, if it's off, turn it on) and see if that helps.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
gcCad
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-21-2010
Message 4 of 8 (2,888 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-21-2013 09:01 PM in reply to: salmelaarch

I found that the solution shown in the thread "AutoCAD LT 2014 Flickering Issue" did the trick. Handled a couple problems. You replace the file "AecCore.crx" with a 2013 version.

 

It worked for an LT 2014 installation on a Dell laptop with Win7 64 & a desktop with Win8 64.

No undesirable side effects so far from that solution.

 

For me, turning off hardware acceleration did not help anything.

 

Sorry, I don't know how to paste in a link like Mr. Pendean does.

 

GChapp

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 8 (2,878 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-22-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: gcCad

Thanks for offering additional information to the OP concerning thier issue.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
salmelaarch
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 6 of 8 (2,866 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-22-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: salmelaarch

3DCONFIG command and enabling the hardware acceleration seem to work so far. 

 

Many thanks for the help!

 

Member
salmelaarch
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-21-2013
Message 7 of 8 (2,847 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-22-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: salmelaarch

After trying out the 3DCONFIG / enabling hardware acceleration, I noticed that the problem starts again when I have a few drawings open at the same time. 

 

I click' check for updates' to see if there are any updates for the graphics hardware. but it says that its uptodate

 

computer spec:

Windows 8, 64-bit, English

3rd gen Intel Core i5-3330 processor 3.0 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 3.20 GHz

8GB DDR3 SDRAM, 1600MHz-2X4GB

Integrated Intel HD Graphics

1TB Hard Drive, 3.5", 7200rpm, SATA

 

many thanks for all the help

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,663
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 8 (2,845 Views)

Re: Autocad LT 2014 on Windows 8 - Slow switching between layouts

05-22-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: salmelaarch
Try the other suggestion noted above.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.