AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
MCol
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-18-2010
Message 1 of 4 (4,925 Views)

AutoCAD LT 2007 and Windows 7

4925 Views, 3 Replies
05-18-2010 07:25 PM
Hi everyone,

Our office recently got a new computer which came with Windows 7. However I have been unable to install AutoCAD 2007 on it (Error 1606).

I intend to use an upgrade disc version of AutoCAD LT 2010, but that requires 2007 be installed first, doesn't it?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Michael
Valued Contributor
george.drayton
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎06-11-2007
Message 2 of 4 (4,925 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2007 and Windows 7

05-18-2010 08:57 PM in reply to: MCol
LT 2007 does not have to be installed to install LT2010. LT2007 is not certified to run with Windows 7 although if you have a suitable version of W7 an XP compatibility mode is available (I think that you down load some code to do so) sp you might then be able to install and run LT in XP mode.
New Member
hmanrriquez
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 3 of 4 (4,342 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2007 and Windows 7

10-19-2011 07:24 AM in reply to: MCol

Autodesk does not officially support 2009 and older versions of AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT on Windows. If you choose to run older versions of AutoCAD on the Windows 7 operating system, you may opt to use Windows compatibility mode.

I would try to install in Compatibility Mode for XP or Vista. If you have an older application for Windows XP or Vista that doesn't run in Windows 7, you may be able to get it working properly by running the program in compatibility mode.

1. To begin, find the application or shortcut that is causing the problem, then right click on it and select Properties.
2. Then, select Compatibility from the tabbed menu at the top of the properties page:
3. Now, check the "Run this program in compatibility mode for..." box and select the OS you wish to emulate. For most applications, it will be Windows XP SP2. Once you are done, click OK.
4. When you next launch the application it should run under compatibility mode using the OS you selected. If it still fails to run correctly, try another OS selection in step 3 and try again.

I hope this will help to resolve your issue. If not, you will need to contact AutoCad to see if there are any workarounds.

Sincerely,

Herman

New Member
uts1pmt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Message 4 of 4 (1,603 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT 2007 and Windows 7

02-10-2014 03:55 PM in reply to: MCol

I work in IT for UPS.  One of our Plant Engineering sups had his PC upgraded to Win7.  Have AutoCad LT 2007 for that particular machine.  Got installed no problem and it works on the Win 7 Pro with an Admin ID without compatability settings.

 

However, found out about a week later that the user was not able to open it.

 

Autocad Recommended WinXP SP2 compatability but no dice.  Tried setting the AutoCad folder and reg keys to all Users to have full rights but still no go.

Eventually tried the other Compatability settings and found that the Win 2000 / NT4 setting worked just fine for the User account. - I didn't remove the Full Rights to the folders and reg keys as well so you may need combination of both.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.