AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-25-2009
Post 1 of 9

AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

21511 Views, 8 Replies
11-25-2009 12:43 AM
Hi I just want to know if AutoCAD LT 2005 will work on Windows 7 or if theres any patch I can get from Autodesk to allow it work.
I have a small electrical engineering consultancy & purchased this package in 2004 & its more than I need so there is no real need for
me to upgrade to the 2010, Im getting a new computer for myself since my current one is rather slow & would just like to find out now before I tell them which OS to install.
*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 2 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

11-25-2009 04:39 AM in reply to: DaveMc19
Crap shoot. There have been some asking about LT 2000 and LT 2006 recently here. Win 7 apparently has some modes that may allow older software to work. Search a little here and on Google, you may find the right answer. (I've read people getting LT 98 to work on Win XP machines)
Autodesk will not be offering solutions for LT 2005 on current OS's as they consider it an obsolete software about 2 years ago.
Regards, Charles Shade
Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Dean Saadallah
Post 3 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

11-25-2009 04:53 AM in reply to: DaveMc19
Windows 7 Support for Autodesk Products (TS14053691):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14053691&linkID=9240617
Win7Pro or Ultimate (not Home or variants of it) with XP-Mode Option seems
to work best for most lower AutoCAD versions, but there are no guarantees.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-16-2009
Post 4 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

12-16-2009 07:00 AM in reply to: DaveMc19
Were you able to find out if AutoCAD 2005 works on Windows 7? Or does anyone else know.

Thanks

Socal36
Member
3 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-05-2005
Post 5 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

01-25-2010 04:28 PM in reply to: DaveMc19
I got LT 2005 working on Windows 7 (64bit) by right clicking the desktop icon, going to the properties, clicking the "Compatability" tab and setting the compatability mode to Windows XP (SP2).

I hope this helps.
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-24-2010
Post 6 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

03-24-2010 02:42 PM in reply to: DaveMc19
Thanks for the compatibility tip..... buy that man a drink!
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-05-2011
Post 7 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

03-05-2011 07:43 AM in reply to: DaveMc19

I have been using AutoCAD LT 2005 for years on an xp machine.  We have up graded to Windows 7.

 

Can I upgrade to AutoCD LT 2011?

 

I have looked all over the Autodesk site and have had not luck finding an answer.

 

Any help will be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
8,204 Posts
370 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Post 8 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

03-07-2011 04:37 AM in reply to: TimothyNRAS

You can upgrade in the sense that you will have a newer version of LT but you will need to buy a new full seat as upgrade pricing for you gave out about three years ago.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Post 9 of 9

Re: AutoCAD LT 2005 on Windows 7

03-27-2011 07:23 PM in reply to: TimothyNRAS

I got LT 2005 working on Windows 7 (64bit) by right clicking the desktop icon, going to the properties, clicking the "Compatability" tab and setting the compatability mode to Windows XP (SP2).

Works great.

Good luck.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post