Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Area Calculations

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
348 Views, 5 Replies

Area Calculations

I am relatively new to AutoCAD LT and I am hoping that someone will be able to help me out. I am constructing floorplans and measuring the area in m2. My problem is that my areas are not adding up correctly. We are investigating possible future redesigning of units, and although the outer boundary of the building is the same, when I add up the individual units this total area does not add up correctly. While trying to figure out what was going on I traced one unit exactly on another layer and compared areas between the two identical polygons....and they have different areas!?!?!? If anyone could suggest what I should try next, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

They cannot be identical if you get different areas for each: double check your dimensions for those areas and what you are 'snapping' to. Also make sure you use AREA command's OBJECT selection to select a closed PLINE or REGION you created from the drawing file. And as always, if you still cannot get it to work, you need to post a sample file for others to test and recreate. -- Dean Saadallah Add-on products for LT http://www.pendean.com/lt --
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous

Sometimes if an object is 3D it will give weird areas. Have you checked this? Either that or the polyline that created the boundary could have a line under a line which can sometimes confuse the area command too.
Message 4 of 6
Charles_Shade