AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Member
barbjsweeney
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 1 of 21 (2,119 Views)
Accepted Solution

Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

2119 Views, 20 Replies
04-26-2012 05:39 AM
Need advice - my architecture firm currently uses auto cad 2005! We only do 2d work at the time. To save $$$$ are considering "updating" to 2013 auto cad LT. Can anyone summarize pros/ cons between LT and full blown auto cad 2013? Anything we will be losing from full blown 2005 by going to 2013 LT?

If you use a reseller thya will be able to tell you the cost.

Download the Trial and find out the answer to your other questions.

We will not know what issues you may have going from Full to Lt since we do not know what your drawing content is.

You may find that you have been using all kinds of content that LT does not play well with.

Flatten emulation in LT may become a friend as well.

MLEADERS in newer Versions are one example of something that does not tranlate well to older Versions.

PROXYGRAPHICS, PROXYNOTICE, PROXYSHOW  will be three Variable that you will need to become familiar with.

All of your drawings would need to Save to 2004 format by default if you wish to use them regulalry with the older software.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 21 (2,116 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

You need to tell us how you use AutoCAD 2005.

If it is heavily automated thru Lisp and other programming you will lose that.

Express Tools for the most part will be gone.

 

A place to start:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/compare/item?siteID=123112&id=13706379

 

Download the Trail and see for yourself.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,656
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 21 (2,114 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

Download the trial and test it in-house for 30-days: best way to find out if it works for you is, well, to try it yourself.

Otherwise what do you want everyone here using LT to tell you exactly: like AutoCAD, LT is not industry specific and other that "2D" you really did not share exactly how you use AutoCAD 2005 (lisps, ARX apps, Express Tools, VBA add-ons etc., all of which are not in LT).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
barbjsweeney
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 4 of 21 (2,110 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade
Thank you for the reply, yes, I had seen that auto desk matrix. We are very primitive, very unsavvy, and use autocad in a very basic sense. We really have no IT person so i know we are underutilizing 2005. It looks like view cube is a 3d thing so that would be no problem to not have that. We do use express tools. It seems like in canvas controls - we don't have that with 2005, true? so no prob. If we don't have that. I'm not sure what add ons we use! And don't even know what arx apps are!!
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,656
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 21 (2,107 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

Grab the trial version and test it in-house for 30-days, you'll discover real fast whether it works for you or not.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 21 (2,106 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

Time to download the Trail and give it a go.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
barbjsweeney
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 7 of 21 (2,102 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 06:16 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade
Ok, I suppose I will need to get the trial & try it out. We would need about 8 seats total. Any idea approx. how much cost savings of buying LT vs. Full blown? And will there be issues with bringing in drwgs. currently in 2005 to 2013 LT? Could we keep 2005 at some stations and go back and forth? Thanks for all of your help!
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 21 (2,099 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

If you use a reseller thya will be able to tell you the cost.

Download the Trial and find out the answer to your other questions.

We will not know what issues you may have going from Full to Lt since we do not know what your drawing content is.

You may find that you have been using all kinds of content that LT does not play well with.

Flatten emulation in LT may become a friend as well.

MLEADERS in newer Versions are one example of something that does not tranlate well to older Versions.

PROXYGRAPHICS, PROXYNOTICE, PROXYSHOW  will be three Variable that you will need to become familiar with.

All of your drawings would need to Save to 2004 format by default if you wish to use them regulalry with the older software.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,656
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 21 (2,086 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

Amazon.com sells LT2013 in 5 and 10 packs where the individual cost of a license drops significantly and more you buy.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,720
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 10 of 21 (2,085 Views)

Re: Aotocad LT 2013 vs. Auto cad 2013 - architecture

04-26-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: barbjsweeney

IMHO I wouldn't load AutoCAD 2013 either full or LT version even if I lost a bet.

 

Check out the issues and the un-expected results in the full ACAD forum.

 

And for <$DIETY> sake don't uninstall your working version and don't let acad 2013 touch any files you wanna use in pre-2013 files. Even blocks.

 

There are many issues that you may not be able to resolve. If you are in the middle of a project and downgrade  upgrade to 2013 add a few months to your clients lead time.

 

But then, that's just my take on it.  :smileyindifferent:

 

Regards,

DJ

 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.