AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
BillW435
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 1 of 4 (127 Views)
Accepted Solution

Annotative objects question

127 Views, 3 Replies
07-06-2012 11:08 AM

Let' see if I have this right...

 

When adding text directly in paper space, there is no point in making it annotative, correct?

I am revising  ACad drawings which have paper space text that appears odd in print preview, suspect a problem relating to annotative setting.

 

What changes should I make between adding text in model space (which I want to be annotative) and dding text directly in paper space?

 

Thanks much, all.

 

Bill 

You don't need to make any changes.  Annotative text objects follow the "rules" of the dimstyle chosen, so if you place them directly in paper space they will show up exactly as defined.  When you place them in model space you need to be aware of what cannoscale(s) will be required.  Otherwise they may not show up in a viewport here and there.

 

I use annotative text almost exclusively now.  Once you get to the point where you understand how the visibility settings work it becomes pretty easy.  It certainly helps standardize the look of your work!

 

Dave.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Annotative objects question

07-06-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: BillW435

You can use Annotative Objects anywhere, that's the beauty of the feature: no limitations.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: Annotative objects question

07-06-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: BillW435

You don't need to make any changes.  Annotative text objects follow the "rules" of the dimstyle chosen, so if you place them directly in paper space they will show up exactly as defined.  When you place them in model space you need to be aware of what cannoscale(s) will be required.  Otherwise they may not show up in a viewport here and there.

 

I use annotative text almost exclusively now.  Once you get to the point where you understand how the visibility settings work it becomes pretty easy.  It certainly helps standardize the look of your work!

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Active Contributor
BillW435
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 4 of 4 (113 Views)

Re: Annotative objects question

07-06-2012 12:56 PM in reply to: BillW435

Thank you Dean and Dave.

 

Yes, I try to use annotative settings, now that I understand scale requirements.

 

It turned out that my problem related to default line weight. (Really!).

In all layers of the drawing, lineweight was set to default, which was often too heavy.  I reset lineweight to what I really neded, which improved appearance greatly.

 

As always, appreciate your naluable assistance.

 

Bill

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.