AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
p.jones
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2006
Message 1 of 14 (414 Views)
Accepted Solution

Annotative dimensions

414 Views, 13 Replies
12-08-2011 01:34 PM

How can I get annotative dimensions to appear in viewports with different scales with text etc. at the same size?

hope_this_helps

Assuming your text STYLES and DIMSTYLES are oth annotative, and your DIMSTYLE is using your annotative text STYLE, simply changing the viewport's scale will do it. If not you got something set incorrectly and you need to post a sample DWG file for others to help further.

Annotative scaling is a little tricky to learn at first, but once you get how all the settings work together you'll be fine.  It's easy to end up with everything associated with all the scales you use too if you're not careful, and that was what I looked for to start in your drawing.  But it didn't quite solve the issue for some reason - still not quite sure why.

 

But when I use annotative scaling I'll always check first to see what scale I'm going to be using in paperspace before doing anything else.  Then I'll go into model space and make sure that scale is set before doing anything.  The other thing I'll check is that the "Show annotation objects for the current scale only" icon is ON, and that the "Manually add scale to annotative objects" icon is OFF.  From there I never have problems.

 

Dean suggested, and I strongly agree, that you need to create annotative text, dimensioning, and leader styles with your paper space text heights defined for this to really work the way you expect.  For your file I made a P3 DIM style and bumped the text ht up to 5 units and also increased the arrows (also to 5) so I could see more clearly what was going on.  But it did work... both viewports displayed the annotative objects they were supposed to properly with the text and arrows the same size in both.

 

Keep experimenting with this.  Once you get it you can move on to the next topic.  We all go thru this.  :smileywink:

 

Dave.

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,907
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 14 (404 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-09-2011 04:20 AM in reply to: p.jones

Assuming your text STYLES and DIMSTYLES are oth annotative, and your DIMSTYLE is using your annotative text STYLE, simply changing the viewport's scale will do it. If not you got something set incorrectly and you need to post a sample DWG file for others to help further.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
p.jones
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2006
Message 3 of 14 (387 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-12-2011 12:02 PM in reply to: p.jones

Hi,

 

Many thanks for your response. I'm sure that I am missing something here. Please see attached file. Square is 500 x 500 units and there are 2 annotative dimensions 1:5 on the top and 1:10 at the bottom of the square.

 

Viewport scales are set to 1:5 and 1:10.

 

Hope you can help.

hope_this_helps
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 14 (379 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 01:28 AM in reply to: p.jones

I got the same results with your file.  But I made it work once I did the following:

 

Deleted the viewports and dimensions in model space;

Reset the ANNOAUTOSCALE system variable to 0 (it was set to -4);

Redo the dimensions at 1:5 and 1:10 in model space; and,

Rebuild the viewports.

 

Simply resetting the system variable didn't do it by itself for some reason.  I'm sure someone else here will be able to explain why.

 

BTW, I also created a new DIMSTYLE with a text height of 5.  It probably didn't make any difference in making things appear when they should have, but it did help when it came to seeing the text in the dimensions.  :smileytongue:

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Contributor
p.jones
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2006
Message 5 of 14 (373 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 03:47 AM in reply to: p.jones

:smileyhappy: That fixed it for me. Thank you very much.

hope_this_helps
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,907
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 14 (369 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 04:29 AM in reply to: p.jones

Your DIMSTYLE is annotative, but the text style it uses is not.

Your active text style is not annotative, and all your text styles have a zero height (in annotative, you must provide a Paper Text height).

 

So all your dimensions are doing are following your hardcoded unchangeable settings, just like you set them.

 

Here is your file, fixed, without deleting anything. It was only following what you set it to do.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 7 of 14 (367 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 04:36 AM in reply to: pendean

>>>  (in annotative, you must provide a Paper Text height) <<<

 

That's a golden nugget of info.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 8 of 14 (357 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 12:26 PM in reply to: pendean

I don't believe your revised file completely fixes the problem.  Everything still shows in both viewports (1:5 & 1:10) in paperspace.  And the dimensions continue to show even after modifying their properties and removing unwanted annotation scales.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,907
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 14 (353 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 02:32 PM in reply to: heinsite

So you don't want the dimensions to appear? Freeze their layer inside each viewport separately from modelspace layer settings. Your pick: LAYER or VPLAYER commands.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 10 of 14 (351 Views)

Re: Annotative dimensions

12-13-2011 04:22 PM in reply to: p.jones

Dean, you may have lost sight of the OP's original problem.  He was having problems getting annotative dimensions to display in two differently scaled viewports.  It appears to have been solved now, but it's still not quite clear (to me at least) what was happening.

 

In your file I got it to work but it still required (1) removing and replacing the 1:5 and 1:10 viewports on his layout tab, and (2) going back to model space and verifying that each dimension was only associated to the annotative scale it was supposed to be associated with.  In your file both dimensions were associated with 1:1, 1:5 and 1:10.  That's why they showed up in both viewports.  Simply fixing the associative properties wasn't enough... the viewports still needed to be redone.  Once that was fixed it all worked the way it should, and the way (I think) the OP was expecting.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.