AutoCAD LT General Discussion

AutoCAD LT General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jserink
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 1 of 6 (360 Views)

AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

360 Views, 5 Replies
03-18-2012 10:33 PM

Hi All:

 

My brand spanking new Acad2012 cannot copy anything to the windows clipboard...it freezes as soon as I hit enter after selecting the objects I want to copy. The only solution is to taskmanager and kill it.

 

I've had to go back to using my old AcadLT 2002 in my WindowsXP VM.

 

Does anyone have a clue on what is causing this? Basically my new Sing$2000 SW is useless unless I can copy blocks form one drawing to another.

 

I've applied this patch:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18022638&linkID=9240618

 

Which did nothing.

 

Thoughts?

 

Cheers,

john

 

Contributor
jserink
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 2 of 6 (359 Views)

Re: AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

03-18-2012 11:15 PM in reply to: jserink

Hi All:

 

An update on this.....

Just for luaghs, after I copied to the clipboard and ACAD essetially froze, I just left it and after about 3 minutes it came back and the drawing was actually on the clipboard.

 

So, the obvious question is:

Why does it take so long? its lighting fast in AcadLT2002.

 

Cheers,

john

Contributor
jserink
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 3 of 6 (357 Views)

Re: AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

03-18-2012 11:24 PM in reply to: jserink

Hi All:

 

Update and fixed!!!!

 

First, go to the scalelistedit command and delete everything except 1:1. I ALWAYS draw stuff in real life size (what's the point of using CAD SW if you don't?) so everything else in there was crap.

the, go to layers and delete all the layer filters.

 

problem solved.

 

Cheers,

John

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 6 (348 Views)

Re: AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

03-19-2012 05:19 AM in reply to: jserink

May be worth running this Utility on your old files:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11062617&linkID=9240818

 

Though I am not sure it grabs all files regardless of which version created them. Can't hurt.

Scale List growth happened for a couple years and has been corrected with the latest product lines so you should not have additional problems.

 

About the other scales: You do need them for plotting so I suspect you are going to be putting a few back.

The Scale List Cleanup will work over multiple Drawings.

I am not sure there is a complementing Layer Filter Utility. You may have to hit those one by one as you open older drawings.

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

(Even your own)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
jserink
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 5 of 6 (341 Views)

Re: AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

03-19-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Hi Charles:

 

How do I put back the scales when I need to go into paper space for plotting?

 

Cheers,

john

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 6 (338 Views)

Re: AcadLT2012 with SP1 on Windows 7 x64 freezes after copyclip

03-19-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: jserink

SCALELISTEDIT

Add

Then put in the Paper and Drawing units

Ok

Ok

 

That should do it.

If I open the 1/4" = 1' Scale here to edit it it has .25 Paper units = 12 Drawing units as an example

 

Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
_____________________________________________________________

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.