Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fatal Error: HEAP error

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
sjung1966
6419 Views, 9 Replies

Fatal Error: HEAP error

I've been running ACAD LT98 on Windows XP for many years and today when I tried to open up a drawing I got:

FATAL ERROR: HEAP ERROR

I was not able to do anything to the drawing or type any commands on the prompt line. 

I also received a message from windows saying the program isn't responding.

Any suggestions on how to remedy this?

Thanks,

-Steve-

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
wispoxy
in reply to: sjung1966

"I've been running ACAD LT98 on Windows XP for many years..."

Are you still using Windows XP? Your statement is a bit bland. ACAD LT98 will not work with Windows 7, you'll need to run a virtual machine.

Message 3 of 10
sjung1966
in reply to: wispoxy

Yes, the operating system for my computer is Windows XP.  It is an old HP laptop from about 2000.

The ACAD LT98 software is compatible.

Message 4 of 10
pendean

Is the problem with one single file?
or is it with all files, even new files?
Message 5 of 10
sjung1966
in reply to: pendean

All files.

Message 6 of 10
john.vellek

HI @sjung1966,

That is pretty old and I don't see any easy to find solutions in our knowledge network.

If I can suggest, go into the Windows control panel>Programs and select AutoCAD LT 98 and see if there is a repair option.

It is possible that on such an old configuration you might also have had a disk error so I would check that too. You might run disk cleanup. See here for more.

Please select the Accept as Solution button if my post fully solves your issue or answers your question.

John Vellek