AutoCAD Land Desktop

AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
*Todd W
Message 1 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Where is the workspace info stored?

3781 Views, 9 Replies
01-20-2009 02:34 PM
Setting up new pc and I want to copy the setting over for these to the new
one?

--
Todd W
LDD 2009, Civil 3D
XP Pro SP3
4 G Ram
*Dave Drahn
Message 2 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

01-23-2009 01:35 PM in reply to: *Todd W
It's in the main menu (CUI). In the cui editor there is a Transfer tab you
can pen both main and this 'other' cui and drag the workspace from one to
the other.



"Todd W" wrote in message
news:6108591@discussion.autodesk.com...
Setting up new pc and I want to copy the setting over for these to the new
one?

--
Todd W
LDD 2009, Civil 3D
XP Pro SP3
4 G Ram
Valued Contributor
whatahelisdis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎06-06-2008
Message 3 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-16-2009 10:44 AM in reply to: *Todd W
In Options, under the profiles tab, click "export". Save an .arg file somewhere onto your network. On the new pc, follow the same options steps, except click "import" and import the arg file, then set it current. You can lock the settings by saving the workspace at this point. I hope that helped.
*Dave Drahn
Message 4 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-16-2009 11:45 AM in reply to: *Todd W

Workspace is stored in the menu (cui) file, not the
CAD profile (arg)


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
In
Options, under the profiles tab, click "export". Save an .arg file somewhere
onto your network. On the new pc, follow the same options steps, except click
"import" and import the arg file, then set it current. You can lock the
settings by saving the workspace at this point. I hope that
helped.
Valued Contributor
whatahelisdis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎06-06-2008
Message 5 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-16-2009 11:54 AM in reply to: *Todd W
I was just trying to rocommend a quick resolution. You can import an arg file and save it as a cui in the new PC. Either way works similarly, except if you're trying to standardize things company-wide - like printer settings and support files paths in Options, the arg file saves those settings as well. I'm not sure if the cui file does that.
*Dave Drahn
Message 6 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-16-2009 01:57 PM in reply to: *Todd W

They're actually 2 completely separate environment
files.  The arg stores everything in the OPTIONS tabs (variable settings,
paths, etc), but does not contain any of the GUI/Menu/Toolbar layout or screen
organization (except for screen colors).  The cui contain all the
commands, toolbars, shortkut keys, pop menus and the way they're
laid out on the screen (the workspace).

 

You can't save an arg as a cui.  The arg
specifies where your main and enterprise cui files are loaded from, but that's
the only tie.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
was just trying to rocommend a quick resolution. You can import an arg file
and save it as a cui in the new PC. Either way works similarly, except if
you're trying to standardize things company-wide - like printer settings and
support files paths in Options, the arg file saves those settings as well. I'm
not sure if the cui file does that.
Valued Contributor
whatahelisdis
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎06-06-2008
Message 7 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-17-2009 06:06 AM in reply to: *Todd W
I guess my AutoCAD is different. I can import and arg file and set it current in my options. My toolbars and pull down menus change to how the environment was at the time the arg file was exported, as well as the OPTIONS parameters. I then save my workspace and everything seems to stay that way. Try it. It really works
*Dave Drahn
Message 8 of 10 (3,781 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

03-17-2009 08:30 AM in reply to: *Todd W

Your CAD profile probably references a main
customization file that has a default or current workspace that is set to what
you see when you set the profile current.  (Or maybe we just
have different AutoCADs)


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
guess my AutoCAD is different. I can import and arg file and set it current in
my options. My toolbars and pull down menus change to how the environment was
at the time the arg file was exported, as well as the OPTIONS parameters. I
then save my workspace and everything seems to stay that way. Try it. It
really works
Active Member
planetcad
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 9 of 10 (3,323 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

01-17-2013 10:41 AM in reply to: *Dave Drahn

What is the simplest, most effective way to mange a "main" cui globally, while allowing users to sustain their own workspace environment?

New Member
brynmainwaring
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Message 10 of 10 (1,867 Views)

Re: Where is the workspace info stored?

11-01-2013 03:25 AM in reply to: planetcad
Create you own Enterprise cui file
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.