AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
Valued Contributor
Maypo
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-02-2003
Message 1 of 5 (1,253 Views)

MTEXT alignment

1253 Views, 4 Replies
03-09-2006 03:31 PM
Does anyone know how I can align existing text columns in an existing MTEXT box? I inherited a drawing with a list of items intended to be aligned by column and row but they are not.
Thanks!
*Don Reichle
Message 2 of 5 (1,253 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-09-2006 04:26 PM in reply to: Maypo
Hey Maypo;

Whenever I'm faced with this task you've described, I always separate the
Columns - usually in Excel, because that's a Default Setup I can make use of
there. If the data needs a Total arrived at, then I'm one step ahead of that
game, by utilizing Excel.

I then Copy the necessary Range of Cells;
Open Notepad;
Paste the data there;
Select All;
Cut;
Go to AutoCAD - where I usually have the Mtext open, and waiting to receive
the text from Notepad;
Paste the data from Notepad.

It takes longer to explain, than to perform.

If you've got existing Mtext already, then just take it into Excel by way of
Notepad - to generate those columns you need.

HTH

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
C3D/LDT/CD/SVY-2K6
Intel P4-3.00GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 Ti 64MB


wrote in message news:5106960@discussion.autodesk.com...
Does anyone know how I can align existing text columns in an existing MTEXT
box? I inherited a drawing with a list of items intended to be aligned by
column and row but they are not.
Thanks!
Valued Contributor
Maypo
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-02-2003
Message 3 of 5 (1,253 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-10-2006 02:55 PM in reply to: Maypo
Thanks for the info.
I just inserted the Excel spreadsheet as an OLE due to time
*Don Reichle
Message 4 of 5 (1,253 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-10-2006 02:59 PM in reply to: Maypo
You're perfectly "safe", until the Spreadsheet grows in either width or
length (or both!) - past the "point of no return". :-)

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
C3D/LDT/CD/SVY-2K6
Intel P4-3.00GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 Ti 64MB


wrote in message news:5108210@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for the info.
I just inserted the Excel spreadsheet as an OLE due to time
Member
davluc
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 5 of 5 (1,133 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

07-24-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: Maypo

I'm pretty new to CAD, as  most of my work is in SolidWorks. I'm making drawings for an Engineer who wants everything in AutoCad LT 2004, which I have. Is there a way to insert a excell spreadsheet into a MTEXT box. I'm using Window 7.

 

Thanks,

Dave 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!