AutoCAD Land Desktop

AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
Valued Contributor
Maypo
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-02-2003
Message 1 of 5 (1,234 Views)

MTEXT alignment

1234 Views, 4 Replies
03-09-2006 03:31 PM
Does anyone know how I can align existing text columns in an existing MTEXT box? I inherited a drawing with a list of items intended to be aligned by column and row but they are not.
Thanks!
*Don Reichle
Message 2 of 5 (1,234 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-09-2006 04:26 PM in reply to: Maypo
Hey Maypo;

Whenever I'm faced with this task you've described, I always separate the
Columns - usually in Excel, because that's a Default Setup I can make use of
there. If the data needs a Total arrived at, then I'm one step ahead of that
game, by utilizing Excel.

I then Copy the necessary Range of Cells;
Open Notepad;
Paste the data there;
Select All;
Cut;
Go to AutoCAD - where I usually have the Mtext open, and waiting to receive
the text from Notepad;
Paste the data from Notepad.

It takes longer to explain, than to perform.

If you've got existing Mtext already, then just take it into Excel by way of
Notepad - to generate those columns you need.

HTH

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
C3D/LDT/CD/SVY-2K6
Intel P4-3.00GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 Ti 64MB


wrote in message news:5106960@discussion.autodesk.com...
Does anyone know how I can align existing text columns in an existing MTEXT
box? I inherited a drawing with a list of items intended to be aligned by
column and row but they are not.
Thanks!
Valued Contributor
Maypo
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-02-2003
Message 3 of 5 (1,234 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-10-2006 02:55 PM in reply to: Maypo
Thanks for the info.
I just inserted the Excel spreadsheet as an OLE due to time
*Don Reichle
Message 4 of 5 (1,234 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

03-10-2006 02:59 PM in reply to: Maypo
You're perfectly "safe", until the Spreadsheet grows in either width or
length (or both!) - past the "point of no return". :-)

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
C3D/LDT/CD/SVY-2K6
Intel P4-3.00GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 Ti 64MB


wrote in message news:5108210@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for the info.
I just inserted the Excel spreadsheet as an OLE due to time
Member
davluc
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 5 of 5 (1,114 Views)

Re: MTEXT alignment

07-24-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: Maypo

I'm pretty new to CAD, as  most of my work is in SolidWorks. I'm making drawings for an Engineer who wants everything in AutoCad LT 2004, which I have. Is there a way to insert a excell spreadsheet into a MTEXT box. I'm using Window 7.

 

Thanks,

Dave 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.