AutoCAD Land Desktop

AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CADguy82
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎01-06-2006
Message 1 of 6 (1,238 Views)

Importing a dtm file

1238 Views, 5 Replies
02-27-2006 06:18 AM
How do you import a dtm file into LDT?
*R.K. McSwain
Message 2 of 6 (1,238 Views)

Re: Importing a dtm file

02-27-2006 08:48 AM in reply to: CADguy82
stevewalz said the following on 2/27/2006 8:18 AM:
> How do you import a dtm file into LDT?

What format is it right now?
Drawing entities? Points, 3D lines, 3DFaces?
-or-
A file, such as a .FLT file?

--
R.K. McSwain
http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com
Distinguished Contributor
CADguy82
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎01-06-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,238 Views)

Re: Importing a dtm file

02-27-2006 09:02 AM in reply to: CADguy82
Just received two files with the extension .dtm Not sure, but I think this might be a MicroStation file. I know that with LDT projects, there is a DTM folder created in all projects and in there, you can find .tin, .sdf, .and pnt files, however, I have never come across a .dtm file. I talked to the guys in GIS here and they told me that it could be an ASCII file, but it isn't. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks
*Don Reichle
Message 4 of 6 (1,238 Views)

Re: Importing a dtm file

02-27-2006 01:26 PM in reply to: CADguy82
Hey Steve;

Any chance you could call over to the consultants who sent you this file and
ask them to make sure?
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=.dtm+files

HTH

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
C3D/LDT/CD/SVY-2K6
Intel P4-3.00GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 Ti 64MB


wrote in message news:5096870@discussion.autodesk.com...
Just received two files with the extension .dtm Not sure, but I think this
might be a MicroStation file. I know that with LDT projects, there is a DTM
folder created in all projects and in there, you can find .tin, .sdf, .and
pnt files, however, I have never come across a .dtm file. I talked to the
guys in GIS here and they told me that it could be an ASCII file, but it
isn't. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Active Member
arganapathy
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-06-2005
Message 5 of 6 (1,238 Views)

Re: Importing a dtm file

02-27-2006 11:17 PM in reply to: CADguy82
Hi Steve,
Surpac a package for mining industry uses *.dtm file which is a Digital Terrain Model file works with the corresponding *.str file which is a string file(point file).
Thats the *.dtm file i came across.

ARG
Distinguished Contributor
RNDPIS
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 6 of 6 (975 Views)

Re: Importing a dtm file

06-03-2013 01:47 AM in reply to: arganapathy

How can we open the .dtm file (mainly which software support the .dtm file format)?

Thanks in advance.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.