AutoCAD Land Desktop

AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
Member
RobertMrRob37
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-20-2005
Message 1 of 16 (181 Views)

AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

181 Views, 15 Replies
07-15-2005 08:54 AM
I would like to turn off the option for the Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode to enable me to open multiple drawings concurrently with the same instance of AutoCAD LDD. However, the option is selected in the Options menu (found by right clicking in the command line) and shaded so that I cannot deselect it. I have already tried going into the editor, and it indicates that I may select 0 or 1 only, and there is a 3 in that location. I am currently operating with ACAD LDD Release 2. Any help that I can get with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
*Don Reichle
Message 2 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 09:07 AM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
Hey Robert;

This can ONLY be accomplished through Land Enabled Map.

Civil 3D has rescinded this bothersome setting in LDT, but AFAIK this will
only die with the last version of LDT sometime in the future.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

The alternative is running Multiple Sessions of LDT.

The controversy regarding Multiple Sessions of LDT has raged periodically in
this forum from time to time. I have used that method without Negative
Impact for years now - but others have had issues with doing that in their
firms.

You will have to decide for yourself.

HTH

--
Don Reichle
"King Of Work-Arounds"
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
--------------------------------------
LDT3/CD3
IntelP4-2.4
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 MX 32MB
Western Digital Raptor 10K-rpm HD


wrote in message news:4902861@discussion.autodesk.com...
I would like to turn off the option for the Single-Drawing Compatibility
Mode to enable me to open multiple drawings concurrently with the same
instance of AutoCAD LDD. However, the option is selected in the Options
menu (found by right clicking in the command line) and shaded so that I
cannot deselect it. I have already tried going into the editor, and it
indicates that I may select 0 or 1 only, and there is a 3 in that location.
I am currently operating with ACAD LDD Release 2. Any help that I can get
with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Member
RobertMrRob37
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-20-2005
Message 3 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 09:56 AM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
Thanks Don, I have been using regular CAD (many different versions) for about a decade now, and I have never run into problems with having multiple drawings open at the same time with only one instance of the framework open, like yourself. I think this is one retarded function, especially since they have put the option for people to either use or not use, then lock it so everybody is stuck using it the way they set it up. Personally, I prefer being able to start up ACAD (any version) and being able to decide for myself what options I want to use and being able to change them from one universal set of defaults. But, having spent 13 years in the military, this seems to be yet another instance of, "If it makes sense, don't do it!" Thanks again for your input, at least I can put this issue to bed.
Distinguished Contributor
AdammR
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 4 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 10:16 AM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
I've been wanting to change this as well, and spoke with a local cad rep. to get some input. Based on his theories I'm working on a possible solution to this. I'll post my findings later, but it looks like it may be possible (at this stage)....
*Karl Fuls
Message 5 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 12:16 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
It's dangerous enough (to your project data) having multiple sessions of
LDT open - I can only imagine the risk having multiple drawings open in
a single session of LDT

--
Karl Fuls PLS
Autocad AEC Training and Consulting
Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator

AdammR wrote:

> I've been wanting to change this as well, and spoke with a local cad
> rep. to get some input. Based on his theories I'm working on a
> possible solution to this. I'll post my findings later, but it looks
> like it may be possible (at this stage)....
*Josh
Message 6 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 01:11 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
As it was explained to me by someone in the know, there is FAR too much
overhead (open files, databases, etc) to support MDI in Land Desktop. And
ditto to what Karl said....*shudder*. I operate in Land Enabled Map for MDI
and go to LDT only when I need it's specific functionality.

wrote in message news:4902861@discussion.autodesk.com...
I would like to turn off the option for the Single-Drawing Compatibility
Mode to enable me to open multiple drawings concurrently with the same
instance of AutoCAD LDD. However, the option is selected in the Options
menu (found by right clicking in the command line) and shaded so that I
cannot deselect it. I have already tried going into the editor, and it
indicates that I may select 0 or 1 only, and there is a 3 in that location.
I am currently operating with ACAD LDD Release 2. Any help that I can get
with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
*Allen Jessup
Message 7 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 01:15 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
It is inconvenient. But at the present state of LDT this is necessary for
the protection of project data. You may have a competency that would allow
you to work on multiple drawings at one. However that doesn't apply to all
who may us the program. So it can make sense in some respects. I don't have
users coming to me with. "I lost today's work because I forgot and closed
the drawing with the new data in it first".

This is one of the reasons autodesk decided to abandon LDT and write Civil
3D. In C3D you have full access to the MDI.

I get along opening one Instance of LDT and one of LEM with multiple
drawings open.

Allen

wrote in message news:4902963@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Don, I have been using regular CAD (many different versions) for
about a decade now, and I have never run into problems with having multiple
drawings open at the same time with only one instance of the framework open,
like yourself. I think this is one retarded function, especially since they
have put the option for people to either use or not use, then lock it so
everybody is stuck using it the way they set it up. Personally, I prefer
being able to start up ACAD (any version) and being able to decide for
myself what options I want to use and being able to change them from one
universal set of defaults. But, having spent 13 years in the military, this
seems to be yet another instance of, "If it makes sense, don't do it!"
Thanks again for your input, at least I can put this issue to bed.
*Don Reichle
Message 8 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 01:23 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
snip>and go to LDT only when I need it's specific functionality.
Which is why I open the multiple sessions.

I have incorporated so many of the functions into my daily grind, that I
find LDT infinitely more useful than Map alone.

--
Don Reichle
"King Of Work-Arounds"
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
--------------------------------------
LDT3/CD3
IntelP4-2.4
1GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce2 MX 32MB
Western Digital Raptor 10K-rpm HD


"Josh" wrote in message
news:4903199@discussion.autodesk.com...
As it was explained to me by someone in the know, there is FAR too much
overhead (open files, databases, etc) to support MDI in Land Desktop. And
ditto to what Karl said....*shudder*. I operate in Land Enabled Map for MDI
and go to LDT only when I need it's specific functionality.

wrote in message news:4902861@discussion.autodesk.com...
I would like to turn off the option for the Single-Drawing Compatibility
Mode to enable me to open multiple drawings concurrently with the same
instance of AutoCAD LDD. However, the option is selected in the Options
menu (found by right clicking in the command line) and shaded so that I
cannot deselect it. I have already tried going into the editor, and it
indicates that I may select 0 or 1 only, and there is a 3 in that location.
I am currently operating with ACAD LDD Release 2. Any help that I can get
with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
*Jeff Mishler
Message 9 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-15-2005 02:29 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
>I have incorporated so many of the functions into my daily grind, that I
>find LDT infinitely more useful than Map alone.

>--
>Don Reichle

Ditto that here. I always have one session of each open.The LEM will have
anywhere from 1 - 6 drawings open.
*TomD
Message 10 of 16 (181 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Land Development - Single-Drawing Compatibility Mode

07-17-2005 04:24 PM in reply to: RobertMrRob37
This is what happens when your code is 15 years old, Robert.

wrote in message news:4902963@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Don, I have been using regular CAD (many different versions) for
about a decade now, and I have never run into problems with having multiple
drawings open at the same time with only one instance of the framework open,
like yourself. I think this is one retarded function, especially since they
have put the option for people to either use or not use, then lock it so
everybody is stuck using it the way they set it up. Personally, I prefer
being able to start up ACAD (any version) and being able to decide for
myself what options I want to use and being able to change them from one
universal set of defaults. But, having spent 13 years in the military, this
seems to be yet another instance of, "If it makes sense, don't do it!"
Thanks again for your input, at least I can put this issue to bed.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.