AutoCAD Land Desktop

AutoCAD Land Desktop

Reply
Valued Contributor
lstarbird
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 1 of 19 (2,560 Views)

Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

2560 Views, 18 Replies
01-03-2011 02:37 PM

We're currently reviewing our upgrade path options since our workstations are about 4-5 years old & running Windows XP with Land Desktop 2007.  Since Land Desktop 2007 isn't supported on Windows 7 & we're not ready to dive into Civil 3D, it looks like our only option is to use LD 2009 with Windows 7.  When talking to our reseller/trainer, they mentioned that LD 2007 was the last "quality" build of LD & had expereienced some weird little quarkes when running LD 2008 or 2009 in training sessions.

 

Since staying on LD07 doesn't sound like an option if we're upgrading to Windows 7, I wanted to see if anyone had been using LD 09 in production, as opposed to just training environments, what their experience has been & suggestions for other alternatives if Windows 7 & LD 2009 is really a bad combo.

 

Thanks in advanced

Member
tedb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2004
Message 2 of 19 (2,533 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 08:42 AM in reply to: lstarbird

We are using LDC 2009 with windows 7 and not having any problems, contrary to warnings before loading it. So far so good.

Valued Contributor
lstarbird
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 3 of 19 (2,529 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 10:10 AM in reply to: tedb

Hi Ted,

 

Thanks so much for the feedback!  That's great news!  Out of curiosity, what hardware are you running it on?

Member
tedb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2004
Message 4 of 19 (2,525 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 11:08 AM in reply to: lstarbird

Intel Xeon CPU, 2.13 GHz, 6 GB Ram, 500 GB hard drive, 64-bit Operating System with Windows 7 Pro

Valued Contributor
lstarbird
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 5 of 19 (2,517 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 01:11 PM in reply to: lstarbird

Super...thanks TedB!

Valued Contributor
lstarbird
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 6 of 19 (2,514 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 02:24 PM in reply to: lstarbird

Ted...do you happen to know what type of video card?

Member
tedb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2004
Message 7 of 19 (2,510 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-04-2011 03:13 PM in reply to: lstarbird

NVIDIA Quadro FX 580

Valued Contributor
Partenheimer
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-29-2005
Message 8 of 19 (2,478 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-06-2011 12:59 PM in reply to: lstarbird

I migrated my old firm to LDC 2008 back in January 2008. The "weird" issues we encountered were related to SDI=1 (Single Document Interface) which Land Desktop requires to run correctly. Many modern AutoCAD features depend on SDI=0.

 

When you open multiple files in one instance of Land Desktop, Land Desktop will disable most Land Desktop commands. If you prefer to use the AutoCAD OPEN dialog box rather than the LDT OPEN dialog box, opening multiple files is inevitable. (Using Sheet Set Manager does too)

 

As the CAD Systems Manager, my work-around was involved. Using AutoLisp embedded in MNL files I undefined and redefined the OPEN, NEW, QNEW, SAVE, & SAVEAS commands. This would automatically manipulate SDI as needed (SDI=1 to open a file and then SDI=0 after the file was open, then SDI=1 to open the next file)

 

Other issues include LDT text styles and Annotative text.

 

 With several work-arounds in place, 75 different users successfully used LDC 2008 in 6 offices with only very minor issues. (Can't use SSM to open files). The same work-arounds were valid in our 2009 version build.

Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,274
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 9 of 19 (2,456 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-07-2011 07:42 AM in reply to: lstarbird

How are you getting 2009?  It isn't sold so you must have unistalled disks on hand?

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Valued Contributor
Partenheimer
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-29-2005
Message 10 of 19 (2,453 Views)

Re: Anyone using Land Desktop Companion 2009?

01-07-2011 08:17 AM in reply to: lstarbird

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2009 - Land Desktop Companion was originally delivered as part of the Civil 3D 2009 fulfillment. (The disk came in the same box). Look for your original Civil 3D 2009 box.

 

If you are on Civil 3D subscription, check your product enhancements download page. On my subscription page, both LDC 2008 & 2009 are available for download as of this morning.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.