AutoCAD Freestyle

AutoCAD Freestyle

Reply
Member
dbaan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,186 Views)

Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

1186 Views, 6 Replies
07-20-2010 10:38 PM

I currently work with AutoCAD LT in the office, but I have to walk jexisting obsites to plan out Fire Alarm Systems changes and I found that the Leica Disto 8-which is a distance meter, can be used to transfer dimensions to AutoCAD via bluetooth - However, the manufacturer does not indicate which AutoCAD product supports this. Freestyle would be perfect as a field application if it supports "leicadisto" function. This would allow me to capture actual dimensions in the field that I can upload to AutoCAD LT in the office for final system designs. Any info or advise?

Board Manager
crounsl
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,182 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

07-21-2010 09:22 AM in reply to: dbaan

I am not overly familiar with the  Leica Disto 8 but in looking at their website, it appears that they ship a plug-in which allows you to use their data in AutoCAD.  Only the full version of AutoCAD allows for plug-ins of that type.

 

This is a very interesting use case for Freestyle though.  I'd be interested in hearing if others would find functionality like this in Freestyle to be useful.



Lisa Crounse
Sr. Product Manager
Member
dbaan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

07-21-2010 09:51 AM in reply to: dbaan

Can you tell me what products are considered "full versions", ie. would AutoCAD LT be included?

Board Manager
crounsl
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 4 of 7 (1,177 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

07-21-2010 09:54 AM in reply to: dbaan

AutoCAD LT is not extensible, meaning that it does not accept plug-ins.  AutoCAD, AutoCAD Architecture, etc. allow for plug-ins.  That said, the manufacturer may or may not support different "flavors" of AutoCAD.  From their website, I would infer that they only support plain AutoCAD.



Lisa Crounse
Sr. Product Manager
Active Member
george_matos
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,096 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

08-10-2010 10:28 AM in reply to: crounsl

Any full flavor or AutoCAD will work.  AutoCAD Architecture, AutoCAD MEP, AutoCAD MAP, etc.  I use it with ACA and know people that use it with Map.

New Member
mjcrow
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2010
Message 6 of 7 (817 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

11-07-2010 03:16 AM in reply to: dbaan

I would be interested in Freestyle but only if it was capable of taking measurements direct from a Disto with bluetooth. I am currently looking for software to do exactly that, the new version of Autosketch (10) doesn't have this capability so I will probably have to look outside the Autodesk family of products to take my business to the next level. Shame really, I've been using Autosketch since version 8 and thought the new version might include this capability, then I saw this new product (Freestyle) and thought great, surely they have bluetooth capability, but alas no. I'm sure others would also be interested in this product if it had this feature.

Active Member
george_matos
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-19-2010
Message 7 of 7 (807 Views)

Re: Freestyle - Usable in the field with a Leica Disto 8?

11-08-2010 07:03 PM in reply to: dbaan

Any AutoCAD based product will work with the DISTO, takes measurements no problem.  We use AutoCAD Architecture.  I know people that have used AutoCAD Mechcanical.  I believe you just can't use AutoCAD LT.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.