Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Self taught and wondering if the following can be done.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
babak.zahedi7141
192 Views, 3 Replies

Self taught and wondering if the following can be done.

So long story short im self taught using a student version of 2017 auto cad. so i drew a 2d drawing using default lineweights to be able to export it to our laser cutter/engraver. after getting done with it i realized it would look better with fatter lines (its 1940s cartoony style). I can change the lineweights and it shows up when i do a print preview to a normal ol printer but i dont actually see the line weights get any fatter on the autocad drawing screen. I know theres a way to do this but im unsure of how to do this. The idea is to make one pass with the laser cutter software (its really really dumb)to engrave everything (aka woodburn the fat lines and other shading details on) then load another auto cad drawing with only the outline shape to do the actual cutting but making the outline shape on the outside of the outline by scaling it up a hair. (not sure how to do this yet but i think i can figure this out.) AllSavers Login

so put in another way: lets say my dawing is an exact 2" square drawn with the default lineweight setting. I change the line weight to 0.060". I do not actually see the lineweight change on the drawing screen - how can i fix that? I also assume the centerline of the fat line is the 2" square correct? meaning if you were to split it its really 0.030" on either side of the line? I want to etch (woodburn) this fat line onto a piece of wood then cut it out. If so i would need to scale the square up by 0.030" so when i cut it out using the cut function im left with the square with 0.060" outline.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4