Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 3D cone with multiple holes

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
szymonprusce
325 Views, 10 Replies

AutoCAD 3D cone with multiple holes

Hello, I'm fairly new to the AutoCAD 3d and yet, I need to do the project for my engineering thesis.

I need to do exactly the same shape as following:

IMG_20231118_232856.jpg

But using different type of holes (rectangular instead of circular).

I've got no idea how to proceed with that, tried some spline and array around it, but it's not giving the result.

Any tips or solutions to that?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
parkr4st
in reply to: szymonprusce

something like this.  two cones subtract inner from outer then subtract the rectangular bars made with a sweep  on a line and arraypolar?

Message 3 of 11
Patchy

You can try this:

can do this.JPG

Message 4 of 11
leeminardi

It's not cclear from your drawing whether or not the bottom is open or closed.  If closed you might start with a shape like this and then use revolve to make a solid object.

leeminardi_0-1700361165049.png

Position a box with a cross section that is equal to the holes you want.  Then use array/polar to make additional copies as needed followed with a Boolean subtract.  In additon to positioning the boxes radially you may also need to position them on an angle so thath are perpendicular to the cocal wall.

lee.minardi
Message 5 of 11
Washingtonn
in reply to: leeminardi

See video and what follows for hints:

CW and CCW helixes could be used to develop the paths of the holes which should be perpendicular to the final truncated cone shape so the holes would not be swept on horizontal lines but angled to lines perpendicular to the sloped surface.

An array could be used to find intersections with the Helix once the number of holes in the quadrant are know (and the array angle between determined).

A dynamic block could be used with align to set each hole pattern assembly (I only show one hole set).