AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating text styles

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
dom0cerv
11289 Views, 4 Replies

Updating text styles

Hi,

I'm using AutoCad 2012 for Mac. I created a customize text style when I started drawing so, now I need to modify some properties (specifically the text height). I've tried to modify the text height in my own style (Format>Text Style...) but after clicking "Apply", the text I already had written before haven't been updated. Is there any way to apply the chages to texts which have been written before?

Note: I've tried the same operation with "Dimension Style" and it works fine. Every "dimension objet" it's updated after modifying its "Dimension Style".

Thank you for your attention,

Rafa.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
maxim_k
in reply to: dom0cerv

Hi,

Let me to clarify some aspects of changing text style (based on help system):

You can modify an existing text style in the Text Style dialog box by changing the settings. You can also update existing text of that text style to reflect the changes, but:

1. Certain style settings affect multiline and single-line text objects differently. For example, changing the Upside Down and Backwards options has no effect on multiline text objects. Changing Width Factor, Obliquing and Height options has no effect on single-line text.

2. When you change the text style of a multiline text object, the updated settings are applied to the entire object, and some formatting of individual characters might not be retained. The following table describes the effects of text style change on character formatting.
Formatting   Retained?
Bold                    No
Color                   Yes
Font                    No
Height                 No
Italic                    No
Stacking              Yes