AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
geoffreymbrown
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Message 11 of 30 (9,160 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

10-20-2010 01:11 PM in reply to: car2nhimu

I've been there

 

 ls -l Autodesk/
total 0
drwxrwxr-x  2 geobrown  staff  68 Oct 20 16:04 local
drwxrwxr-x  2 geobrown  staff  68 Oct 20 16:04 roaming

/Users/geobrown/Library/Application Support

drwxrwxr-x   4 geobrown  staff   136 Oct 20 16:04 Autodesk

New Member
Marimar21
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Message 12 of 30 (9,066 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

10-28-2010 03:51 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

did you find a solution? i have the same problem and apparently nothing works for me

Member
geoffreymbrown
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Message 13 of 30 (9,063 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

10-28-2010 04:43 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

Here are the directions I received from a tech support person

 

1. Open a terminal window.
2. cd "/Applications/Autodesk/

AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app/Contents"
3. ./copyreg.sh  "/Applications/Autodesk/AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app"

Note: The above assumes the default install location.
This did work for me, but I've had subsequent emails suggesting that they (autodesk) are
concerned that permission problems may persist. 
What these directions do is
run a script distributed as part of Autocad that sets upn things in your ~/Library directory.
Nobody has said, but I'm assuming that when this script is ordinarily run (on my machine and maybe
yours) it doesn't have the right permissions to create the necessary files.
I don't know if this is universal, but our machines are set up so that installing
applications in /Application requires sudo.  Perhaps this is related to the root cause.
New Member
Marimar21
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Message 14 of 30 (9,060 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

10-28-2010 05:01 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

well it works for me :smileyhappy: Thank you very much!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Member
yaronauto
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 15 of 30 (8,752 Views)

Re: Tools icons missing in autocad2011 mac

12-22-2010 02:26 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

My tool set panel is empty . When I open autocad  I see at the commend bar :smileytongue:roblem loading cui panel:

 

I can use the draw ,modify. Dimension from the top bar , but I don't have it at the tool set panel . 

Any ideas .?

thanx

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 16 of 30 (8,735 Views)

Re: Tools icons missing in autocad2011 mac

12-23-2010 04:29 AM in reply to: yaronauto

Hi,

 

have you tried this solution from geoffreymbrown?


geoffreymbrown wrote:

Here are the directions I received from a tech support person

 

1. Open a terminal window.
2. cd "/Applications/Autodesk/

AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app/Contents"
3. ./copyreg.sh  "/Applications/Autodesk/AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app"

Note: The above assumes the default install location.
This did work for me, but I've had subsequent emails suggesting that they (autodesk) are
concerned that permission problems may persist. 
What these directions do is
run a script distributed as part of Autocad that sets upn things in your ~/Library directory.
Nobody has said, but I'm assuming that when this script is ordinarily run (on my machine and maybe
yours) it doesn't have the right permissions to create the necessary files.
I don't know if this is universal, but our machines are set up so that installing
applications in /Application requires sudo.  Perhaps this is related to the root cause.

 

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
yaronauto
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 17 of 30 (8,697 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

12-25-2010 02:33 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

Hi . I have try that but  I think I am not writhing it right. Dose cd stand for the command baton on the keyboard? Do I need to use  the " at the beginning and at the end? Do I press the enter key between  the first command and the second ? 

Can you tell me how to Wright it exactly? 

Thank you for your help.

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 18 of 30 (8,688 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 mac

12-26-2010 10:04 AM in reply to: yaronauto

Hi,

cd stands for Unix command "Change directory",

you have to open Terminal.app (in Utilities) and type exactly (with quotes):

first line

cd "/Applications/Autodesk/AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app/Contents"      hit Return

second line

./copyreg.sh  "/Applications/Autodesk/AutoCAD 2011/AutoCAD.app"      hit Return

(don't miss point - first symbol in front of  /copyreg.sh)

 

 

Screen shot 2010-12-26 at 20.49.37.png

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
yaronauto
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 19 of 30 (8,673 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 Mac

12-27-2010 12:34 PM in reply to: geoffreymbrown

Hi . No it didn't work for me any  other suggestions?

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,352
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 20 of 30 (8,477 Views)

Re: Tool and menu bar missing in autocad2011 Mac

01-11-2011 11:24 AM in reply to: yaronauto

Spaces in unix are handled differently in Mac OS X.  Normally, you can add quotes to define the full path. i.e.

 

cd '/Applications/Autodesk 2011/Autodesk.app/Contents' but sometimes, this will not work.

 

It is much better to run the following commands to get your Tool Sets to work:

 

cd /Applications/Autodesk\ 2011/AutoCAD.app/Contents

 

./copyreg.sh /Applications/Autodesk/AutoCAD\ 2011/AutoCAD.app

 

The space in the Finder is replaced with "\ ".  [Backslash + Space]

 

 

autocad_mac_ui_fix.jpg



David Lau
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.