AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
eglupe
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2012
Message 1 of 7 (333 Views)

Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

333 Views, 6 Replies
03-04-2012 09:13 AM

I am having problem with opening the Text STyle box.  It shows for a second on my screen and then dissappears and my computer freezes after that.  I need to create new Text Style , how can I open the Text style box?

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 7 (332 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

03-04-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: eglupe

Try:

1. to "Reset Application Options" from Application tab of AutoCAD Preferences

or

2. Just exit AutoCAD and try to delete AutoCAD preferences file from ~/Library/Application Support/Preferences folder, it's should look like "com.autodesk.AutoCAD.R18....plist" (the remaining ... depends on AutoCAD version)

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 3 of 7 (315 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

03-04-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: eglupe
And one more question: do you use (from time to time) external monitor, or dual monitor configuration on your Mac with AutoCAD?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
eeneska
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Message 4 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

10-03-2012 04:25 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you! I was having the same problem, with a few other windows as well, page setup for example. I run am running on an iMac no external monitor. I thought it may have something to do with limited processing power (2.8GHz when ACAD wants minimum of 3).

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 5 of 7 (194 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

10-03-2012 09:09 PM in reply to: eeneska

Hi

 

Sorry, I did not understand. Have you managed to solve the problem with "disappearing" dialog boxes?

If you have, that's OK.

And about processor speed - it doesn't affect dialog box behavior at all, it seems that you confused processor speed and amount of RAM (in Gb).

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
eeneska
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Message 6 of 7 (174 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

10-08-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Yes it did solve my problem with the dialog boxes disappearing. Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 7 of 7 (169 Views)

Re: Text box crushes/can't create or change text style

10-08-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: eeneska
Thanks for reply

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.