AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
ggxdxd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 1 of 22 (20,275 Views)
Accepted Solution

Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

20275 Views, 21 Replies
07-06-2012 12:40 PM

This site lists the differences between mac and windows versions:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15833488&linkID=15839490

 

My question is it seems as if many important features are unavailable in the mac version.  I am concerened with UI ,customization, design features, etc.  Are these features simply unavailable in the mac version?  Or do they go by a different name/different way of achieving similar things?

Hi,

Here is my "wall of text", maybe it will be useful:
Quick Properties Palette - not available, but you still can use Properties Palette
Layer State Manger - look for it at http://macacad.wordpress.com/
New Layer Notification - appear to be a feature in 2013 release
Filter Quick Select - look for it at http://macacad.wordpress.com/
DesignCenter - try to use Content palette as partial replacement
Tool Palettes - not available, there is only Too Sets palette (customizible)
Workspaces - not available
Migration Tools - not available
CAD Standards Tools - not available
DWF & DGN Underlays - not available
Markup Set Manager - not available
eTransmit - not available, but could be implemented with some trick (workaround)
Ribbon Customization - no Ribbon - no customization
Right-click Menus, Keyboard Shortcuts, and double-click customization - possible, but only via direct editing .CUI files in XML editing application
Reference manager - is a feature in all AC for Mac releases
Dynamic Block Authoring - not available
Sheet Set Manager - available in 2013 release with some limitations in compare to Windows version, fully compatible with Sheet Sets created in Windows version
Model Documentation Tools - 2013 release supports viewing and annotating Model Doc objects, created in Windows version, Model doc styles are also supported
Table Style Editing - creation of Table Styles not supported, but you can use Table Styles, created in Windows version
Hatch Creation Preview - available, just set HPQUICKPREVIEW=1
Multiline Style Creation - not available
Digitizer Integration - looks like OS specific feature?
Change Space - you can use AutoLISP solution (search the Forum, I've already posted one of the routines of such kind
Express Tools - not available, but some features already implemented in AutoCAD itself, depends on what you need - most of tools could be implemented via Lisp routines.

Maxim
Active Member
Brooks-Architecture
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 2 of 22 (20,269 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-06-2012 02:19 PM in reply to: ggxdxd

I purchased Autocad for Mac about a year ago...and yes many of the features found on the PC version are not included on the Mac version. Some of these features, you really do not need, because of the way the software "works". I use the PC version of Autocad everyday...and use the Mac version at home for special projects and while working "late"...and the two versions are NOT exactly alike.

 

My only major gripes with the MAC version are:

 

1. I love the "refedit" command in the PC version for editting blocks in the context of the drawing...and it bugs me to not have it in the Mac version.

2. I do not like the "floating" toolbars and windows all over the screen...I prefer having my CAD program occupy the screen until I move it or minimize it. I seem to always be moving things around unintentionally. Perhaps there is a way to "lock" things down....but I have not found it.

3. It does not seem to be possible to ADD cameras for doing renderings...and the rest of the rendering type features do not match what is included with the PC version. It is great for modeling, but the rendering capabilities seem a bit lacking. Perhaps Autodesk wants mac users to purchase 3d Max....which is not available for Macs?

 

On the PLUS side of things...I do like having Autocad on my MAC and I considered numerous other programs before purchasing Autocad for Mac. It is a good robust CAD program with 3d modeling capabilities. And it does have some interesting "improvements" over the PC version. I love the parametric dimensioning....although I have just scratched the surface in using it.

Member
ggxdxd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 3 of 22 (20,241 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-09-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: Brooks-Architecture

Thanks for the info, so basically the mac version is a slightly less functional version of the windows one.  For someone who has to use autoCAD full time the windows version seems like it would be a better buy.  Do you know if there are performance issues if the machine CAD is running on is a mac machine running windows through a virtual machine?

 

Active Member
Brooks-Architecture
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 4 of 22 (20,237 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-09-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: ggxdxd

I wanted a CAD application that ran "natively" on a MAC...and thus choose Autocad for MAC. I did not experiment with running it through Fusion or Bootcamp.

 

I run it on a new IMac without any problems. And I had it on my old 5 year old  IMac without any problems.

 

I am not sure "less functional" is a fair analysis. At the moment..... I am more familiar with the PC version of Autocad...since I use it everyday...and have been using it since the early 90s. 

 

 I used Autocad for Mac, full time for a year on several projects.....and with a few exceptions.... it works fine and does everything I would want it to do...it just does things a little bit different than the PC version ( version 9 ) that I currently use everyday. And does many things much better than the PC version.

 

After finding some of my old favorite commands were "missing" , I realized there were other ways to do what I wanted to do...and in many instances...the work process was "simplified". For example, changing properties of objects is streamlined by how they have integrated the management of layers. It is a more intuitive process, once one has "un-learned" old habits of software useage.

 

There is also functionality in ACAD for Mac that I do not actively use...but have recently been "learning"...to use on an upcoming project.

 

Despite my criticism of autocad for mac...I like the program...it just does a few things different than the PC counter part. But I think these "differences" reflect changes that are occuring in the PC based version of the program as well. I am now working in Autocad Architecture 2012 for PC also. And many of its features and organization are becoming more akin to REVIT.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,705
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 22 (20,214 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-10-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: ggxdxd

Why buy a MAC if you want to run AutoCAD in Windows? Just curious since running Native Applications (WIndows or MAC) is usually the best path for productivity and personal sanity IMHO.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
ggxdxd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 6 of 22 (20,197 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-10-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: Brooks-Architecture

Thanks, I am working with one of our guys to get him used to the mac autoCAD environment.  He is having some trouble with some of the features that are missing in this.  I sat down with him and went through the functions on the list in my original post.  He highlighted the ones that were most important.

 

If you know of the mac equivalant or workaround of these features please let me know:

Quick Properties Palette

Layer State Manger

New Layer Notification

Filter

Quick Select

DesignCenter

Tool Palettes

Workspaces

Migration Tools

CAD Standards Tools

DWF & DGN Underlays

Markup Set Manager

eTransmit

Ribbon Customization

Right-click Menus, Keyboard SHortcuts, and double-click customization

Reference manager

Dynamic Block Authoring

Sheet Set Manager

Model Documentation Tools

Table Style Editing

Hatch Creation Preview

Multiline Style Creation

Digitizer Integration
Change Space

Express Tools

 

 

These are some of the features that my co-worker uses most and are available on the windows version but not on mac.  Is there a "workaround" or a way to enable these in an osx environment?

 

Sorry for the wall of text:

TL;DR - How do I teach an old dog new tricks?

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 7 of 22 (20,179 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

07-10-2012 09:45 PM in reply to: ggxdxd
Hi,

Here is my "wall of text", maybe it will be useful:
Quick Properties Palette - not available, but you still can use Properties Palette
Layer State Manger - look for it at http://macacad.wordpress.com/
New Layer Notification - appear to be a feature in 2013 release
Filter Quick Select - look for it at http://macacad.wordpress.com/
DesignCenter - try to use Content palette as partial replacement
Tool Palettes - not available, there is only Too Sets palette (customizible)
Workspaces - not available
Migration Tools - not available
CAD Standards Tools - not available
DWF & DGN Underlays - not available
Markup Set Manager - not available
eTransmit - not available, but could be implemented with some trick (workaround)
Ribbon Customization - no Ribbon - no customization
Right-click Menus, Keyboard Shortcuts, and double-click customization - possible, but only via direct editing .CUI files in XML editing application
Reference manager - is a feature in all AC for Mac releases
Dynamic Block Authoring - not available
Sheet Set Manager - available in 2013 release with some limitations in compare to Windows version, fully compatible with Sheet Sets created in Windows version
Model Documentation Tools - 2013 release supports viewing and annotating Model Doc objects, created in Windows version, Model doc styles are also supported
Table Style Editing - creation of Table Styles not supported, but you can use Table Styles, created in Windows version
Hatch Creation Preview - available, just set HPQUICKPREVIEW=1
Multiline Style Creation - not available
Digitizer Integration - looks like OS specific feature?
Change Space - you can use AutoLISP solution (search the Forum, I've already posted one of the routines of such kind
Express Tools - not available, but some features already implemented in AutoCAD itself, depends on what you need - most of tools could be implemented via Lisp routines.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Contributor
betazero
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 8 of 22 (19,935 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

08-01-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: ggxdxd

I wonder how well Autocad for Mac is selling? I really hope that enough people are buying it so that they keep developing it into a full fledge Autocad. Really it should be sold for Autocad LT prices until its a finished version of Autocad. Also, I hope Autocad switches to the pay monthly method like Adobe has. Pay 50 bucks a month and you can use any Autodesk software...lol yea I know I am NOT holding my breath... Seriously, though, the days of 3 grand software needs to end. Its time for 300 bucks to be a high number. Even where I work we are sitting with Autocad 2008. 3k per seat is TOO much. 3k times 20 people is 60 grand. That is crazy for a couple extra features or in Mac's case a hundred fewer features than a 4 year old (or 5 year old if you live in Autodesk years) piece of software.

 

I do not understand how Autodesk could leave out so many very important features like editing dynamic blocks. Thats like leaving off the Line command for me. Deal Breaker! All of my blocks are dynamic and I can not imagine not being able to edit them which I do daily. I will keep trying the educational one until its good then I guess I will wait until hell freaazes over for the price to drop to $199.99. 

 

Simple math..

If 10,000 people buy Autocad at 3k thats 30,000,000 bucks

but if you sell it for 300 bucks and 100,000 people buy it (because at least 10 times more will) thats 30,000,000 bucks.

 

I dont know about you but I would prefer more people buying than making more off one person.

 

dump Autocad LT and sell Autocad for 300 bucks :smileyhappy:

 

Also sell things like Architecture as ADD ons to Autocad. 100 bucks for Autocad Architecture and so on...

 
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 22 (19,926 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

08-01-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: betazero

How about some research on salaries for programmers, costs for utilities, server operations, product licensing?  There's a very justifiable reason the software costs what it does.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
Brooks-Architecture
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-06-2012
Message 10 of 22 (19,926 Views)

Re: Switching from Windows to Mac for AutoCAD 2013

08-01-2012 11:40 AM in reply to: ggxdxd

Sure...there is a "justifiable" reason all of the programmers and everyone down the line are paid what they deserve...

 

BUT, Autodesk is marketing this product as a "full featured" version of Autocad designed to run natively on a Apple computer. Thier marketing material even states that one of the reasons to buy it is because it is software that you already know from the PC version...and it simply is NOT.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.