AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
New Member
lc2288
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Message 1 of 3 (201 Views)

Running ACAD 2012 on 2008 unibody MacBooks, is it possible?

201 Views, 2 Replies
01-06-2012 10:27 PM

There's no way I could get AutoCAD 2012 for Mac to run on a late 2008 aluminium unibody macbook (model 5,1) with 2GB of ram is there?

 

Note: I tried it just crashes. It seems to check the specs and then crash with no error message.

 

The 2011 verson worked just fine.

New Member
mcraren
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 2 of 3 (163 Views)

Re: Running ACAD 2012 on 2008 unibody MacBooks, is it possible?

01-26-2012 12:21 PM in reply to: lc2288
Try upgrading your RAM. I have a 2008 running 2012 with 8GB of RAM. It's easy as taking the back off and inserting new sticks (cheap too). Haven't had any issues so far. If you have lion, don't forget to run appropriate updates/patches for AutoCAD.
New Member
lc2288
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Message 3 of 3 (159 Views)

Re: Running ACAD 2012 on 2008 unibody MacBooks, is it possible?

01-26-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: mcraren

Funny you should mention that. I just bought an 8GB RAM upgrade and it just came in today we'll see how it runs once I install it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!