AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
nickeroni
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 1 of 4 (365 Views)

Printer Compatibility

365 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2013 02:12 PM

Ok I am using autoCAD 2013 on a MacBook. Just connected to my office's LAN and want to print to our networked HP5100 series. I can print from other things on my machine but not from AutoCAD. I get the following error-

"HP LaserJet 5100 PCL5: This plotter configuration cannot be used for one of these reasons: the driver cannot be found, the device cannot be found, or the driver has a problem. The default plot device has been substituted. OK"

I looked up the error and if I hit ok it will print but only in 8.5" by 11" format. I want to use this printer to print 11 by 17. 

I set that up and get plot and publish complete- with no errors, but then the printer does not detect the 11 by 17 paper in the paper tray and it just holds everything up in the print queue. I can't seem to get AutoCAD to 'see' the proper setting available for the printer- yes I downloaded and installed the latest printer software. Any clues/ help would be appreciated.

Active Contributor
nigma
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 2 of 4 (317 Views)

Re: Printer Compatibility

01-14-2013 11:33 PM in reply to: nickeroni

which plotter driver do you have installed?

what's your plotter type((HP LaserJet 5100)?

I have tried the HP LaserJet 5100 and can see th 11x17 papersize.

Active Contributor
nickeroni
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (278 Views)

Re: Printer Compatibility

02-15-2013 06:33 AM in reply to: nigma

thanks for your answer. I still get the error messages but I was able to get it working.

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,737
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 4 (272 Views)

Re: Printer Compatibility

02-15-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: nickeroni

Hi,

 

In order to get rid of error messages about plotter configuration in AutoCAD for Mac you have to create Page Setup in Page Setup Manager with new plotter (printer) name.

In Windows version you can force AutoCAD to "remember" new plotter name even without saving Page Setup - you can just print drawing with new plotter or hit "Apply" button in Print dialog, but on Mac you can not use this trick.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.