AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
JohnRennie
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 1 of 5 (233 Views)

PDF's not printing

233 Views, 4 Replies
08-07-2012 06:43 PM

Has anyone had trouble printing PDF's when they are xreffed into a drawing?

 

I've just tried 2013 again, for the first time since I gavce up on it after it was initially released, and low and behold I find something else not working!

 

I have PDF's xreffed in and can view these in a viewport, but when I go to print these they disapear.

 

Also, when flicking between various sheets I find I have to toggle the viewports off, then back on before it will display the PDF in it.

 

 

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,741
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 5 (228 Views)

Re: PDF's not printing

08-07-2012 08:12 PM in reply to: JohnRennie

Hi John,

 

In a simple drawing (quick created just to test) I haven't such issues.

 

Maxim

 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Valued Contributor
JohnRennie
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 3 of 5 (224 Views)

Re: PDF's not printing

08-07-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi Maxim

 

Try this one, and see how you go.

 

The PDF's are from an ArchiCAD model and as such they contain a lot of vector data so that may be the issue that AutoCAD for MAC struggles with.

 

I've attached the DWG and PDF

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,741
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 5 (216 Views)

Re: PDF's not printing

08-08-2012 12:21 AM in reply to: JohnRennie

Hi John,

 

All layers in your drawing are "VPFrozen" for current and subsequently created viewports. Why?

After I thawed the layer with PDF underlay, I was able to see and print it.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Valued Contributor
JohnRennie
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 5 of 5 (208 Views)

Re: PDF's not printing

08-08-2012 12:40 PM in reply to: JohnRennie

Hi Maxim

 

Great, that was the issue!

 

It's a little strange that you are still able to see the PDF even though it was on a frozen layer?

 

I normally have all layers as vp frozen as it ensures things created later in a project do not accidently creep into a previously created viewport.

 

 

Thanks,

John

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.