AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Materials

240 Views, 6 Replies
09-27-2012 08:24 AM

I have not been able to attach materials to my parts.  The materials browser is empty and I can't get it to add materials.  

 

I have typed the search path to the materials file into it but to no avail.

 

I know it's easy and I'll feel foolish when I get the answer but until then I'm just frustrated.

Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

The materials are locked because you can not edit them in AutoCAD for Mac, but you should be able to assign materials to the objects in your drawings, lock status doesn't prevent you from material assignment.

Maxim
*Expert Elite*
4,349 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 2 of 7

Re: Materials

09-27-2012 01:20 PM in reply to: 337x3l
Hi,
Are you really can not see any materials in Material browser? There should be only one material library- Autodesk Material library, which is collapsed, when you open Material browser at first time.
In AC for Mac you couldn't create your own materials or edit existing.
Could you post screenshpt of Myerial browser?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Post 3 of 7

Re: Materials

09-27-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: maxim_k
My default drawing. How do I activate the Materials Browser?
*Expert Elite*
4,349 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 4 of 7

Re: Materials

09-27-2012 07:38 PM in reply to: 337x3l
With RMAT command, or Cmd+8 shortcut

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-02-2015
Post 5 of 7

Re: Materials

01-03-2015 05:03 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hey maxim_k,

 

Thanks for the good tip. I am obviously new, and was wondering if you coulf help me unlock the materials in my library. I am trying to apply them to a roof pannel (mat aluminum), though when I open the material browser (RMAT) all of my materials are locked. I have a huntch that I might have missed something in the instalation process, but still have no idea where to start correcting this problem.

 

Thak you for any help that you can provide!

*Expert Elite*
4,349 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 6 of 7

Re: Materials

01-03-2015 10:13 AM in reply to: 337x3l
Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

The materials are locked because you can not edit them in AutoCAD for Mac, but you should be able to assign materials to the objects in your drawings, lock status doesn't prevent you from material assignment.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-02-2015
Post 7 of 7

Re: Materials

01-03-2015 11:42 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you!

 

And good to know. It did start lettgin me apply them after I figured out that they would appear in the usable materials box above, but it took me a minute! I appriciate your help, and I'm sure will ahve more questions in the future.

 

TH2015

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!