AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
New Member
JohnLongbottom2599
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 1 of 4 (209 Views)

mac and autocad lt

209 Views, 3 Replies
09-24-2012 11:10 PM

At the moment i run autocad LT on a PC and it is slow.  I was thinking of buying a macbook pro and running autocad lt on it with a large screen and then when i am away i can take my laptop with me. Does the normal autocad lt run on a mac and would it have enough umpf to run it. Which model should i buy?

Regards John Longbottom

Longbottom Building Projects Ltd

Rotorua NEW ZEALAND

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,187
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (188 Views)

Re: mac and autocad lt

09-25-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: JohnLongbottom2599

Normal LT? As in, the one for Windows that will not run on MAC OS?

You need to upgrade to LT for MAC to run it smoothly on a MAC hardware: otherwise what's the point of buying a MAC, so you can cripple it by running WIndows on it too?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
enquires
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 3 of 4 (179 Views)

Re: mac and autocad lt

09-25-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: JohnLongbottom2599

Would be very careful at present as all AutoCAd Mac versions are NOT SUPPORTED on the new OS x Mountain Lion.

 

At present there appears to be no comment from AutoDesk with regard to WHEN support will be offered.

 

You could always download the trail version of LT form the Mac which appear to be stablish! and see how it goes from there.

Contributor
enquires
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 4 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: mac and autocad lt

09-28-2012 03:58 AM in reply to: JohnLongbottom2599

AutoCAD LT for the PC can be run on the MAC, you just need either Parallels or VM Fusionware, both these packages are virtural machines whichallow you to run a seperate operating system within the MAC OS X.

 

Alot of professional have programes that will only run in windows and this is the easy way to run them.

 

Also if you do get the MAC verison you may be able to cross license it for both systems.

 

Also not forgetting the option of "Boot Camp" on the MAC which effectivly allows you to install Windows on your MAC and this would then give you a choice of which operating system to boot up.

 

I have used a MAC OS X with VM Fusionware and Windows XP with AutoCAD and found no problems with the speed of functioning of AutoCAD.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.