AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
adamatt1983
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013
Message 1 of 16 (3,671 Views)

Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

3671 Views, 15 Replies
08-08-2013 09:35 AM

I am trying to load our office fonts “DIN” and “Universal 57” but I can’t seem to get them to show up in the text style dialog box. I have placed them in my user Library, in the computers general Library, as well as in the AutoCAD’s personal library. I have also edited the Support File Search Paths. Nothing is working. I know they are both true type fonts but could it be that they are just not compatible with CAD? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Thx

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,722
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 16 (3,666 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 10:32 AM in reply to: adamatt1983
Are you following these procedures:
http://www.dafont.com/faq.php#mac

Does restarting AutoCAD help?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
adamatt1983
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013
Message 3 of 16 (3,665 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: adamatt1983

Thanks for the reply.

 

Yeah I have tried bothe of those, and nether seams to have much effect.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 16 (3,658 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: adamatt1983

TrueType fonts typically have to be installed or registered with the system, so unlike SHX fonts they can't simply be copied into a folder.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,187
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 5 of 16 (3,652 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: adamatt1983

Hi,

 

1. It is enough to put your fonts in one location: Fonts folder inside your Library folder in your Home folder.

2. Could you use those fonts in other applications on your Mac (TextEdit)?

3. Have you restarted AutoCAD (close application completely and start it again) after you install fonts to your system? 

4. If you quicklook your office fonts, what do you see?

If you see something like this:

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-08 at 23.06.51.png

 

instead of:

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-08 at 23.35.40.png

 

then you will never see those fonts in AutoCAD,

In order to use them you have to "recompile" those fonts with some Font authoring software, because symbols in those fonts have invalid unicode numbers (from Mac OS the "point of view").

 

If the last (#4) is true, then I can try to help you with recompilling if you need.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
adamatt1983
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013
Message 6 of 16 (3,649 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Thaks so much for the responce!

 

I have restarted my AutoCAD so thats not the problem. I can use the fonts in another draftign program (Vectorworks), however when I opend Microsoft Word and checked the fonts they were not present. Do you have to individuely instal them for each program? And #4 is not true, I do see the alphabet in the apropriet style. 

 

thx

 

matt

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,187
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 7 of 16 (3,644 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: adamatt1983
Hi matt,

You don't need to install fonts for each application individually. There is something wrong in those fonts, I think.
Could you send me one of the fonts to my mail:
mkanaev at yandex.ru ?
I'll try to look into the problem.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
adamatt1983
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2013
Message 8 of 16 (3,637 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-08-2013 02:15 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Maxim,

 

I will e-mail you one of the fonts, thanks so much for your help.

 

Matt

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,187
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 9 of 16 (3,624 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

08-09-2013 03:37 AM in reply to: adamatt1983

Hi Matt,

 

The font file you sent me is not True Type font, it is PostScript Type 1 font (someone changed file extension from PFB to  TTF). So you can not use it in Mac OS and in AutoCAD for Mac.

Furthermore, it seems that the font you sent me is corrupted in some way. I also found AFM version of your font (Internet searching) and was able to produce TTF file from it.

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 15.05.44.png

 

Maxim 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
stefan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-31-2014
Message 10 of 16 (439 Views)

Re: Loading fonts for AutoCAD 2013 for MAC

10-31-2014 02:07 PM in reply to: maxim_k

hello Maxim.

 

i have the exact font and the exact problem descibed here. i have the ttf font.. i can see it in word but not in autocad. i have tryied everything. can you please send me the corrected font at my email adress? thank you so much.

 

Stefan

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.