AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Post 1 of 9

Help: Alert message

414 Views, 8 Replies
01-06-2012 06:08 AM

I have not opened AutoCad in 2 months, and received this message when I did:

 

The directory may be locked by another procees or haven been set Read Only. Directory: '/users/myusername'

Please correct this problem and press OK to exit the application.

 

Can somone please advise me what to do. Thank you!





*Expert Elite*
4,350 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 2 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-06-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: mitchelllance

Hi,

 

I can suppose:

1. Something happened with permissions for your home folder

or

2. Something happened with your user id

 

For the first assumption - Try to repair permissions in Disk Utility.

For the second assumption - Can you try to run the following command in the terminal:


id -u "your_user_name"


where "your_user_name" is your short user name (in quotes) on Mac.

What result do you get? (should be 501)

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Employee
29 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Post 3 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-10-2012 06:31 PM in reply to: mitchelllance

This indicates you don't have write permission on your working directory where AutoCAD needs to put some settings. Could you donwload the zip file attached and run the test.app after unzipping then let me know the result?

 

Thanks,

Hao Fang

AutoCAD Test Development

Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Post 4 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-10-2012 09:10 PM in reply to: fangh

Hi Hao,

I ran the test and got a similar error message: 

 

The directory may be locked by another process or have been set Read Only.
Directory: '/Users/mitchelllance'
Please correct this problem and press OK to exit the application.

 

Thanks for the help!

Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Post 5 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-10-2012 09:12 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi Maxim,

When I plugged this into terminal I got 502...not the result I wanted.

Is there a fix? Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
4,350 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 6 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-11-2012 12:38 AM in reply to: mitchelllance

Hi mitchelllance,

 

In order to run AutoCAD it should be 501.

If you was able to run the application on your Mac previously (just after first installation), could you remember what was happened to your system during last two months?

 

Could you try to create new account on your Mac and try to start AutoCAD from this new account?

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Post 7 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-11-2012 05:30 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Your right about this...

I was able to open AutoCad from my Guest user account....

The only system change since installation was the deletion of an old system user. However, AutoCad was never used or installed with that user account. Any suggestions? thanks

*Expert Elite*
4,350 Posts
537 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Post 8 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-11-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: mitchelllance

It seems to me, that by default, when you install Mac OS or add new user to it System creates new user with User ID 501 (I have never seen another variant). So there was some "System fault" when you deleted an old user. I think, that developers of AutoCAD are aware of this "501 user problem", but there is still no easy solution to it.

 

If you will google Internet with "user id mac os", you will find a lot of solutions for changing UID, but I had never tried these by myself. The only thing I know - changing User ID might damage your account and prevent you from logging in your account.
So be careful!

Wait for answer from Autodesk stuff.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Post 9 of 9

Re: Help: Alert message

01-12-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Problem solved. I changed the application folder permission to read and write. Not sure why this ever changed, but at least now it's working. Thanks everyone

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!