AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
garsmack
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 1 of 9 (10,186 Views)
Accepted Solution

Constraints menu problems

10186 Views, 8 Replies
01-21-2011 11:27 AM

I use Autocad 2010 at school on the PC, under windows 7,  but Autocad 2011 at home on the mac. on the mac Ive noticed constraints icons come up all the time on my drawings, i hide them, then more apprear. very annoying cause you cant click on the items behind without closing all of them. ive tried to turn off the constrains icons, but nothing works. also i have noticed when ive been adding new lines to my drawings it wants to snap to the nearest corner, instead of where i was clicking on the line. it doesnt have as many options as the pc version for changing prefs, so i cant find where to make this "normal" for me. help. my instructor tells me i should have bought windows, UUGG!

Hi garsmack,

 

If you really need to use constraints (even if Infer Constraints is turned on) you can try to use this solution to clean up display from constraints icons:

1. First, as you did - hide existing constraints icons (you have know how),

2. Set system variable CONSTRAINTBARDISPLAY to 2 (instead of 3 by default)

By this way you still can apply constraints, but you can see constraints icons only if you select objects, when no command is active.

 

Screen shot 2011-01-22 at 9.09.41.png

 

HTH

 

 


garsmack wrote:

... also i have noticed when ive been adding new lines to my drawings it wants to snap to the nearest corner, instead of where i was clicking on the line. ....


Please, check your OSNAP settings, also you can turn off Object Snap temporary with F3 (or Fn+F3) key or you can override Object Snap for current click - use Shift+Right-click to call context OSNAP override menu, as you do on PC.

 

 

Maxim

Distinguished Mentor
jaich
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 2 of 9 (10,179 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

01-21-2011 01:47 PM in reply to: garsmack

First off, your instructor was correct.

 

As for the constraints issue, turn off infer constraints.  

 

As for snapping to the endpoint of a line instead of where you are clicking, turn off your endpoint snap.  If you don't have your object snaps on, expect your accuracy to be pretty much nonexistent.  

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,791
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 3 of 9 (10,163 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

01-21-2011 10:17 PM in reply to: garsmack

Hi garsmack,

 

If you really need to use constraints (even if Infer Constraints is turned on) you can try to use this solution to clean up display from constraints icons:

1. First, as you did - hide existing constraints icons (you have know how),

2. Set system variable CONSTRAINTBARDISPLAY to 2 (instead of 3 by default)

By this way you still can apply constraints, but you can see constraints icons only if you select objects, when no command is active.

 

Screen shot 2011-01-22 at 9.09.41.png

 

HTH

 

 


garsmack wrote:

... also i have noticed when ive been adding new lines to my drawings it wants to snap to the nearest corner, instead of where i was clicking on the line. ....


Please, check your OSNAP settings, also you can turn off Object Snap temporary with F3 (or Fn+F3) key or you can override Object Snap for current click - use Shift+Right-click to call context OSNAP override menu, as you do on PC.

 

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
garsmack
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 4 of 9 (10,126 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

01-23-2011 06:18 PM in reply to: garsmack

cool, thanks, i will try both of these solutions, ive gotten so frustrated with the mac version that I have boot camped my Macbook pro. but with these settings changes, things are very hopeful that I wont need to spend too long in the windows world. Ty very much.

G.

 

Member
lmcgavern
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Message 5 of 9 (10,023 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

01-31-2011 11:38 AM in reply to: garsmack

I wasn't able to turn the constraints off (someone wrote to turn "infer constraints" off--I don't see anything with "infer"). Since I couldn't turn them off, I just used one constraint that will never show up. Even so, the drawings is incredibly bogged down and virtually unusable. What else can I do to turn this off? I don't even know how it was turned on!

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,791
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 9 (10,019 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

01-31-2011 12:04 PM in reply to: lmcgavern

 


lmcgavern wrote:

I wasn't able to turn the constraints off (someone wrote to turn "infer constraints" off--I don't see anything with "infer"). Since I couldn't turn them off, I just used one constraint that will never show up. Even so, the drawings is incredibly bogged down and virtually unusable. What else can I do to turn this off? I don't even know how it was turned on!


 

Hi,

 

Please, read my post above.

Infer constraints toggle button is on Status Bar:

 

Screen shot 2011-01-31 at 23.03.07.png

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
jdagen
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-31-2011
Message 7 of 9 (7,958 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

10-23-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: garsmack

There is a bug. I uncheck infer constraints but it does not turn it off. Is anyone else having this problem.

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,791
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 8 of 9 (7,951 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

10-23-2012 09:09 PM in reply to: jdagen

Hi,

 

Unchecking infer constraints doesn't turn off or remove existing constraints. You have to turn them off with menu Parametric-> Constraint Bars-> Hide All, or delete them manually with Parametric-> Delete Constraints.

 

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
rmackin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
Message 9 of 9 (6,944 Views)

Re: Constraints menu problems

03-21-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: jaich

This fixed worked for me. Thank you so much!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.